Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2002, 07:07 AM
go i huvet go i huvet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 213
Default Boost recording...?

Hi,

I guess you guys have been discussing this matter several times...But I just had to ask...

After I´m done mixing, I always feel like the recording is so thin-sounding...I mean, I put the CD into the CD-player in the car and compare it with the sound from the radiostations...a BIG difference. I have a pretty good volumelevel...that´s no problem but I miss the "fatness"...man, did that sound stupid, but I hope you´re getting it.

How do you guys attack this problem..I beleive there´s thousands of ways...

Maximizer, Compression...how and in what order.?

Cheers guys

////Go [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2002, 07:26 AM
go i huvet go i huvet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 213
Default Re: Boost recording...?

I answer it myself...a good tip is to start searching the DUC and THEN ask questions.. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

////Go
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2002, 09:07 AM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: Boost recording...?

go i huvet,

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] It's OK, man... sometimes I'de rather chat about it than just read to myself... takes some of the fun out of it.

Roy
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2002, 09:12 AM
Mark_Knecht Mark_Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,500
Default Re: Boost recording...?

Hi,
One thing I hear about is that the mixes you hear over the radio are often not the same mixes you buy on the CD. They supposedly use a lot more compression to get the volume up and make it work in the average car.

I've been pretty happy, though, when I compare my mixes in the car CD player to a commercial CD in the same system. That seems to be a lot closer.

Just my thoughts.

Good luck,
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2002, 10:06 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Boost recording...?

Also, the stations themselves compress the hell out of their signal...
I'd like to add that Normalization is a great tool and final step. That will raise the overall levels and leave the ratio between volume levels in place. Compressing will bring your lows up closer to the highs... which is fine for Rock and Hip Hop or whenever you want everything to be 'in your face' loud.
My career, however, has had more to do with acoustic recording where dynamics are desireable. I normalize my bounced mixes to 100% when I'm sure I won't be adding anymore processing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2002, 10:22 AM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Boost recording...?

my advice would be to start with a good mix, period.
Before you add any type of processing, make sure everything sits pretty in the stereo field and that all your levels are where you want them.
As far as the 'fatness' you're referring to, it's all about using proper eq and compression. The latter being the key to a 'pro sound' once you get a good grip on it.

A good mulitband compressor, like the Waves C4 across your mix will make a big difference (subtlety is also the key here), and an L1 to finsih things off will yield great results.

Although I'm not an advocate of normalizing an entire mix, I won't argue that if it works for some, depending on the style of music, then so be it, normalise away (I only normalize individual files that were poorly recorded, and even then, quite sparingly).

The other advice would be to do a search on this board, there's a Barnes & Noble's worth of info on just about everything, brought to you by all the wonderful poeple who make this DUC happen.

Books, magazines, websites, etc...it's all out there. Your best mentor will be your own mistakes and reading about how to correct them on the next pass. Wash, rinse, repeat, and your mixes will inevitably get better.

good luck,

pk
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-2002, 10:23 AM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Boost recording...?

Last on the Mastertrack you put Waves L1 in the finalizing mode and before that get the C4 on the same track and I´m sure it will get you in the right direction. You can get the Gold Bundle or Platinum Bundle (soon) at Musikborsen in Gothenborg...
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-07-2002, 10:43 AM
Jorge442 Jorge442 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 1,242
Default Re: Boost recording...?

Try the Maxbass from Waves. In mastering I set up the C4 trimming the mids and lows, then add the Maxxbass, then any extra EQ, then the S1 for imaging, the a bomb factory stereo compressor, then the another EQ if necessary, then the L1.
You might find this set up redundant, but I use the eq´s with subtlety because the compressors always rob me of high end!! lol
Anyways, I used to have the C4 right before the L1, but then any Eq´ing I did got squashed by the C4. Having it at the begginnig of the chain has given me far better results.

my .02
__________________
what a long, strange trip it´s been

www.abacomusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-07-2002, 10:45 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Boost recording...?

Hi PK-
I'd like to hear more of your thoughts on what bothers you about normalizing an entire mix as a final step before burning.
While I've been recording for some 30 years now, it's only been the past 4 or 5 years that I've been transfering my gray (grey) matter to digital techniques. Normalizing the final mix was suggested to me by a friend in a prominant post production house and I've been under the impression (false?) that it was common practice at that level.
In essence, you are taking the hottest signal in the track and moving it up to 0db (norm set to 100%) with all else following in scale. Just wondering why that would be a bad thing. Always willing to learn. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-07-2002, 11:54 AM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Boost recording...?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by JMS40:
Hi PK-
I'd like to hear more of your thoughts on what bothers you about normalizing an entire mix as a final step before burning.
While I've been recording for some 30 years now, it's only been the past 4 or 5 years that I've been transfering my gray (grey) matter to digital techniques. Normalizing the final mix was suggested to me by a friend in a prominant post production house and I've been under the impression (false?) that it was common practice at that level.
In essence, you are taking the hottest signal in the track and moving it up to 0db (norm set to 100%) with all else following in scale. Just wondering why that would be a bad thing. Always willing to learn. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Thanks
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Hey, no problem...

Again, let me just make it clear that this is purely an opinion based on what works best for me, and not the way 'it should be done', necessarily.

Although 'normalizing' would seeem nothing short of common practice, given what it sets out to do, the option sits somewhere within a grey area when it comes to whether or not one should process an entire mix with it. Some engineers apply it while others may go into convulsions at the mere mention of it.

My reasons begin with the idea that a good mix should already have a great sense of balance and volume. If you read some of the previous threads on mixing mehtods, you'll notice most people favor the ubiquitous 'drums and bass first' method.
When you're done mixing the song, prior to compression and final eq on the mix, you should - ideally - have your master fader's level boppin' at around -6db, give or take a few.

While normalizing will raise that overall level, it will also raise any noisefloor present in the tracks.
Furhtermore, by peaking at precisely 0db, you may encounter problems if you decide to later take the mix to a professional mastering facility, disabling the engineer to add any of his own magic, due to the choked headroom.

I think the most important thing (yes, again) is the final mix itself. Try to get it perfect, then bring it back into a new session. Add your C4 (don't get carried away or you'll suck the life out of the music, less is definitely more here). You'll quickly notice how your mix already has more dynamics and sounds a bit tighter.
Then all you want to do is boost the output while retaining all the character the multiband compressor and final eq have added to your song.
Normalizing will 'seem' to do the trick, but I would give this method a try, this way you can compare the difference yourself. Only you can be the true judge as to whether the C4+L1 vs. Normalise method works best for you.

pk

p.s. If you don't have access to Waves plugs, there are alternate ways, Digi's Limiter, or simply import your .wav mix into T-Racks24, which also sounds gorgeous.
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help with a CPU Boost bounce88 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-03-2013 09:57 AM
How do I boost the gain while recording? Sound Student Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 2 12-14-2010 02:38 AM
Signal boost Anjel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-26-2006 06:22 PM
le 5.3.1. mix level boost? abass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-13-2005 01:46 PM
How to boost G4/CPU? Kamy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-13-2000 08:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com