Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2012, 01:04 PM
slavestate slavestate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 4
Default General Pro Tools LE 8 Question - What kind of interface should I get?

Hello there,

I am new to this forum and I am excited in joining.

I have a general question about my Pro Tools LE 8 and M Box Mini set up.

Currently I am using the M Box to record live in my rehearsal space. I have an 8 channel mixer sent from the line out via 1/4" jack into the line in of the M Box via 1/4" jack.

This is only allowing me to have the overall mix (8 channels/tracks) mixed down into 1 overall track on Pro Tools.

My question is what kind of physical recording interface/mixer do I need in order to have separate mixed tracks go into Pro Tools.

I am not familiar with recording other than my little bit using the M Box, so I don't really know where to look in regards to an answer or product.

My goal is to be able to record more than I am now in that I am only able to do scratch tracks of live recording. I would like to have say 5-6 tracks designated for each part of the drums, and another 5-6 tracks recorded separately of various other instruments on their individual track.

Any suggestions or places to direct me?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2012, 02:50 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: General Pro Tools LE 8 Question - What kind of interface should I get?

If you're on PT8 and want that many inputs, your only choice will be the 002/003.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2012, 03:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,750
Default Re: General Pro Tools LE 8 Question - What kind of interface should I get?

Yup^^^ With LE8, the 002/003 is a pretty solid setup and can go out to 18 inputs with some external add-ons(8 channels on lightpipe, plus 2 channels on SPDIF). Pro Tools 9 and 10 open up a whole new world of options(but 8 only allows for Digi/Avid hardware as the main interface).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2013, 07:47 PM
slavestate slavestate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 4
Default Re: General Pro Tools LE 8 Question - What kind of interface should I get?

Would the Digi Design 003 Rack do me justice? I don't have a ton of money to spend, I'm looking to be able to record at least 4 tracks at once within my budget.

Any replies would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2013, 08:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,750
Default Re: General Pro Tools LE 8 Question - What kind of interface should I get?

My 2 cents, but I think the 003r is just fine. Especially if you get a good deal(should be under $500). Now you never mentioned anything about your computer, so be aware that you need a firewire port and a separate recording drive. Then, if you do go with the 003r, your mixer can feed more signals into the line inputs(5 thru 8) in a number of ways(like channel direct outputs, channel insert sends, group outs, aux outs.....)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2013, 08:36 AM
slavestate slavestate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 4
Default Re: General Pro Tools LE 8 Question - What kind of interface should I get?

I have a MacBook that is a few years old.


Model Name: MacBook
Model Identifier: MacBook7,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MB71.0039.B0B

What exactly is a firewire port and are you suggesting that I have a separate hard drive?

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2013, 09:07 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slavestate View Post

What exactly is a firewire port and are you suggesting that I have a separate hard drive?
!
Google 1394 and FireWire port on a Mac Book
- Click on images at the top and there you go

And yes you will need to have a separate hard drive

003r works great with the ADAT you should have 16 x 8 - Which is 16 inputs simultaneous and eight outputs headphone mixes
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2013, 07:28 AM
slavestate slavestate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 4
Default Re: General Pro Tools LE 8 Question - What kind of interface should I get?

Great! I'll start looking for one in my budget. I really appreciate all of your tips and knowledge. I will update this thread as I move forward in my applications.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2013, 08:03 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: General Pro Tools LE 8 Question - What kind of interface should I get?

Also besides the 8 analog outs there's also a ADAT out. If you can find a used Alesis Ai3 which is a ADAT optical to analog converter you can have an additional 8 outputs. Few people need that but its nice to have the expansion. Once you start mic'ing stuff up you can go through inputs fast.

003R should be fine for your needs.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9 No Interface question tryn2chanjdgame Pro Tools 9 1 11-08-2010 07:00 AM
General PC question - Non Pro Tools Chuck1073 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-26-2010 02:05 PM
Some kind of automapping question blank MIDI 0 08-12-2008 09:03 AM
m-box as general sound interface? lolasia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-25-2005 01:09 PM
what kind of midi interface? thumbolt68 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-11-2001 01:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com