Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2020, 11:28 PM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 373
Default mbox pro keeps disabling every time I launch Ableton

I have to keep repairing my driver every time I launch Ableton after restarting computer to get mbox working. I hear the dreaded 'pop' and no audio.
It's never done this before and for the past 2 weeks it does it every time. Works fine with Protools
__________________
Intel 6 Core i7-4930K CPU @ 3.40GHz
32GB DIMM DDR3 G.Skill
Samsung SSD 840 EVO
WD Black SATA 7200
ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Mbox3 Pro Firewire 400
ProTools 10.3.8
ProTools 11.3.1

https://soundcloud.com/matthewcrowe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2020, 06:31 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,860
Default Re: mbox pro keeps disabling every time I launch Ableton

If you have Windows set to use the Mbox as its "default playback device", go into Settings>Sound and change that to the on-board sound card so Windows and Ableton don't compete for control of the Mbox

You also need to make sure to disable "power management" on all USB ports(for those using a USB interface or drive). Sometimes a Windows update will reset this back to ON on some/all USB ports.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave

Last edited by albee1952; 05-30-2020 at 12:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2020, 02:42 AM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 373
Default Re: mbox pro keeps disabling every time I launch Ableton

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
If you have Windows set to use the Mbox as its "default playback device", go into Settings>Sound and change that to the on-board sound card so Windows and Ableton don't compete for control of the Mbox

You also need to make sure to disable "power management" on all USB ports(for those using a USB interface or drive). Sometimes a Windows update will reset this back to ON on some/all USB ports.
it is set to default! I said it only started happening recently.

mbox pro is firewire not usb
__________________
Intel 6 Core i7-4930K CPU @ 3.40GHz
32GB DIMM DDR3 G.Skill
Samsung SSD 840 EVO
WD Black SATA 7200
ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Mbox3 Pro Firewire 400
ProTools 10.3.8
ProTools 11.3.1

https://soundcloud.com/matthewcrowe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio apps take long time to launch after installing mbox drivers steelgrooves FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 1 12-26-2013 12:27 AM
Ableton vs Elastic Time? quizzical Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-29-2008 02:48 AM
Why is Pro tools 7.1.2 "disabling" mbox 2 pro? crisis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-02-2008 12:05 PM
Win XP: BIOS disabling or Device Manager disabling ?? mandal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 11-23-2007 03:11 AM
Ableton live wont run in time plus CPU overload crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-18-2006 02:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com