Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2020, 02:30 AM
sunka_killer sunka_killer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Czech Republik
Posts: 3
Default Fast track is unknown device

Hi guys. I have a really unpleasant problem. I own m-audio fast track. It's connected to my mix and to PC via USB. I have Win10 64-bit laptop. Everything worked as it should, but one day, my PC wasnīt available, and I needed something as a power supply for the fast track. I connected it to my phone by USB reduction. The next day morning I wanted to connect it back to my PC (to record some audio) and it didnīt work! Windows was telling me, itīs the "Unknown device", so I got scared. It looks like the USB is no more full USB (file transfer cable), but only like a power supply cable. I reinstalled drivers, changed USB port, tried another cable, also I connected it to another PC. Nothing worked, still, itīs unknown device. So I went to the internet, read everything a little bit similar to my problem, but it was useless, and I couldnīt find my exact problem. So, dear forum, youīre my last chance. Please, anybody something, that could help me?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2020, 03:30 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,853
Default Re: Fast track is unknown device

Personally, I suspect maybe the Fast Track is fried somehow. I would download the driver for it and re-install, but if that doesn't work, then I would look for a replacement(and I would not recommend another M-Audio product). Look at Focusrite and Presonus for some alternatives.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2020, 04:46 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Fast track is unknown device

I agree with Dave, if the Fast Track is broken or not, you should think of this as an opportunity to get a better interface. I recently build a new home setup and I borrowed a Maudio Fasttrack until I could get something better. Well I got a simple Focusrite 2i2, and the difference was huge. I never realised how bad that interface really sounded compared to something as simple and affordable as the Focusrite. Great value for money.
Edit: I'm sorry; the interface I borrowed was actually a M-Track Mk2. Not Fast Track.

Last edited by Ben Jenssen; 07-03-2020 at 04:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2020, 10:48 AM
sunka_killer sunka_killer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Czech Republik
Posts: 3
Default Re: Fast track is unknown device

Ok, thanks. Itīs really bad to hear, bcs the fast track Iīve got is borrowed from my friend, so he wouldnīt be happy to hear it. But what can I do...
For your Focusrite 2i2 recommendation....I read about something like it optimized for MacOS, and sometimes thereīs problem after installing to windows.. Was it true or I have nothing to be afraid of?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2020, 01:11 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Fast track is unknown device

I use the 2i2 on mac. The mac OS has something called CoreAudio that many interfaces can use, which means you don't really need to install any driver. It just works. I don't know about Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2020, 01:46 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,405
Default Re: Fast track is unknown device

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
I use the 2i2 on mac. The mac OS has something called CoreAudio that many interfaces can use, which means you don't really need to install any driver. It just works. I don't know about Windows.
To be clear here, but a digression...

On Windows for any Pro Tools interface you should look for interfaces where the manufacture provides an ASIO driver. Run far and fast from any interface that does not have a ASIO driver. And I don't care about what Pro Tools First or anything else says about WASAPI or other driver support on Windows.... or trying to use ASIO4ALL to wrap other drivers to look like ASIO... all that stuff is a fluster puck, you want a high quality ASIO driver supported by the interface vendor.. and a good part of selecting interfaces for Windows is how good are those drivers and how good is the vendors at supporting/providing updates to the drivers. (for that Focusrite maybe gets middling grades, with some driver install issues? the same ones the OP likely have heard about. but I'm unclear if they have been fixed.. I don't use their interfaces and don't work on Windows much). What is your budget and what do you need to do? For a replacement of the mAudio the 2i2 is a nice match, and will be noticeably better. But if you want to spend more money lots of other brands are out there and have good support and more features, including say UAD Apollo and MOTU interfaces.

So for example the 2i2, which is a nice little interface, works fine on a mac with no customer driver installed. On a Windows PC you have to install the driver they provide (make sure you download the correct driver for the generation of 2i2). On a Mac a 2i2 is using a device driver, but it's the generic USB CoreAudio driver build into the operating system.. only because Focusrite followed the rules from Apple to make the 2i2 work with that generic driver.

On a Mac Pro Tools (well mostly... Ultimate/HD hardware is a bit special, and just about everything else) uses CoreAudio, the macOS built in audio framework. On Windows, Pro Tools and some other DAWs uses ASIO as their audio framework... ASIO is *not* default Windows built in audio framework... (that's currently WDM or WASAPI... depending on what is being talked about).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 07-04-2020 at 04:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast Track USB II (ml03-00454) audio interface (Code 10 issue in device manager) AudioRaOp FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 0 10-07-2016 12:42 PM
Connect audio device to Fast Track C400 richieromano FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 03-12-2016 07:18 PM
Aggregate Device: Pro Fire 2626 & Fast Track Ultra 8R RambleOnMusicUK macOS 7 06-24-2012 05:17 PM
New PT10 User. MBox3, MAudio Fast Track Ultra, MAudio Fast Track 8R? epu Pro Tools 10 3 06-13-2012 03:55 PM
Mbox 2 mini unknown device (xp sp3) alexvan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-30-2011 05:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com