Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-04-2011, 09:06 AM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: How to merge several separate PT sessions into one ?

Chris ,
Exactly ! The sessions may not be finished until the last moment. That's why MIDI and virtual instruments settings are crucial. On my system I can run several instances of V.I. without any CPU issues, so I do not need to convert everything into AudioStems yet.
Yeah, that would be a very neat, and actually very desired feature of PT software. Import ALL session as is, just specify offset point , BUT preserving an original data from previous sessions.
So for example cue 2 will start in bar 107. That will be the beginning of a second session. There should be feature allowing continuous bar numeration ( i.e. 107,108,109 etc.) without destroying the original bar numbers of the first session.
Chris7514
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-04-2011, 09:09 AM
ChrisSimon ChrisSimon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D-54518 Heidweiler, Germany
Posts: 166
Default Re: How to merge several separate PT sessions into one ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris7514 View Post
And yes- MIDI and virtual instruments data is the point, along with all tempo maps, markers etc. The light changes on stage are also synchronized to the tempo maps in the session.
There should be a simple command : import session with specified location.
Right now we have import session data...
But when you specify what to import and to which starting point, the "OK" command wipes out all your previous session data !!! Did anyone notice it ??
Chris7514
Well I import always as new tracks and put them to their right track, so I donīt overlay the stuff before...
But with markers and tempo stuff...no chance, just the "manual" way...
__________________
---
Chris Simon

www.TwinMusic.de
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-04-2011, 09:14 AM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: How to merge several separate PT sessions into one ?

Exactly. Manual way now is the only option.
I'm wondering how did Digi overlook it... Didn't anyone mention it before?
People work on big projects all the time...
Chris7514
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-04-2011, 09:21 AM
ChrisSimon ChrisSimon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D-54518 Heidweiler, Germany
Posts: 166
Default Re: How to merge several separate PT sessions into one ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris7514 View Post
Exactly. Manual way now is the only option.
I'm wondering how did Digi overlook it... Didn't anyone mention it before?
People work on big projects all the time...
Chris7514
I think, Digi thought, that itīs not so important..
Canīt think, that itīs a heavy thing to do...
Well, perhaps weīll know someday...;-)
__________________
---
Chris Simon

www.TwinMusic.de
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-04-2011, 09:26 AM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: How to merge several separate PT sessions into one ?

No, it's not heavy thing to do at all ! It's simple binary software fixture, that program designers can implement quickly.
It just had been overlooked...
Chris7514
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-04-2011, 10:01 AM
ChrisSimon ChrisSimon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D-54518 Heidweiler, Germany
Posts: 166
Default Re: How to merge several separate PT sessions into one ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris7514 View Post
No, it's not heavy thing to do at all ! It's simple binary software fixture, that program designers can implement quickly.
It just had been overlooked...
Chris7514
Someone should talk to them....
Also the function to let PT calculate "elbow" bars , so following tick oriented stuff doesnīt move, when you edit the tempo in the middle of a session...
__________________
---
Chris Simon

www.TwinMusic.de
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-04-2011, 10:47 AM
jbasil jbasil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: How to merge several separate PT sessions into one ?

I haven't had to deal with importing tempo maps across a timeline, but I've always wished that PT had the options that other DAWS have when dealing with the markers from imported sessions. At first I thought Performer's implementation of "chunks" was not anything I needed to complicate my life with, but I eventually learned that it was a great way to work with set pieces of music that had to be synced over hours of a timeline. I stopped using DP years ago when my need for its midi power lessened and my unwillingness to deal with the audio interface increased, but I sure miss those kinds of features it had. What you are looking to do is a snap in DP : )
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-04-2011, 11:01 AM
ChrisSimon ChrisSimon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D-54518 Heidweiler, Germany
Posts: 166
Default Re: How to merge several separate PT sessions into one ?

Sure, Digi hadnīt so much Focus on MIDI and that stuff...and yes, their AUDIO part is really great....

But as I know a lot of ScoreComposers, who prefer to work on the "standard" platform worldwide, also with MIDI, there should be a "think about" at AVID...!!!
__________________
---
Chris Simon

www.TwinMusic.de
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-04-2011, 05:56 PM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: How to merge several separate PT sessions into one ?

Chris !
I second that big time. PT still needs several improvements in MIDI protocol, and in overal global features such as importing data. One should be able to import entire session into a session with specific starting point ( or offset as it's currently called), preserving all tempo changes, all markers intact.
I already have the vertical order of tracks pretty much the same in all " component" sessions, so it would be relatively easy to use the proposed feature. I'm sure that most of the PT users have some kind of session starting template.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Merge Multiple Pro Tools Sessions -GS- 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-16-2014 07:05 AM
Best way to breakdown tracks to separate sessions? masre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-06-2008 07:04 AM
how do U merge sessions w/different frame rates??? ejsongs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 09-16-2005 08:50 PM
separate songs on long sessions? hendymail Tips & Tricks 5 01-19-2005 12:03 AM
Anyone keep a separate HD just for storage... separate from your PC? Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 11-26-2002 12:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com