Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2010, 11:13 AM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Question Can't use 002R with iTunes as an audio output

Hi Everyone !
I'm trying to play iTunes through my studio monitors using 002R as an audio interface. I hear that it works for some of you.
In Mac preferences for an audio output I'm selecting Digidesign HW (002), but when I launch iTunes it jumps back to the internal speakers by itself.
I've tried everything- restarting computer, making sure that I assign output to 002 BEFORE launching iTunes, etc. All by the book. Still no luck.
Is there any known update that fixes the problem ?

PT LE 8.0.3
DIGI 002R
Mac OS X 10.6.3
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, 27", 1TB internal HD, 8GB RAM.

Chris7514
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2010, 01:35 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,735
Default Re: Can't use 002R with iTunes as an audio output

My choice is to simply run a mini plug to dual RCA to the 002 Alt inputs. Hit the Alt to Mon button to listen to all non-Pro Tools sound(and never have a hardware conflict).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:36 PM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: Can't use 002R with iTunes as an audio output

Thanks ! That's what I did. I was just hoping that there is some way around it.
Chris7514
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2010, 04:55 PM
AfterJohn AfterJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 194
Default Re: Can't use 002R with iTunes as an audio output

Are there 2 options for the 002 in the System Preference sound window? Sometimes you can't see the proper option to select because you have to scroll to the bottom of the choices.
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz Core i7 4GB RAM 10.8.5, PT 10.3.4, Waves v9.1, Duet 2

redtuxedo.com
milkmoneyconsulting.com
mindexpansiontechnology.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2010, 08:59 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,309
Default Re: Can't use 002R with iTunes as an audio output

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
My choice is to simply run a mini plug to dual RCA to the 002 Alt inputs. Hit the Alt to Mon button to listen to all non-Pro Tools sound(and never have a hardware conflict).
Me too.
And with the mix knob on my old mbox set in the middle, I can switch between iTunes, youtube video, a Protools DVD, and Pro Tools itself. In a snap.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.6.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2010, 09:01 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Can't use 002R with iTunes as an audio output

Some Digidesign hardware do not support multi-client audio drivers.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2010, 11:53 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Can't use 002R with iTunes as an audio output

If my memory serves me right, the reason you can't select the 002 in the sound control panel is because you're running 8.0.3 which didn't include a third party "asio" driver for the newer 8.0.3 systems. The last driver version may have been 7.4 or maybe 8.0... Again not 100% positive though. You can also Try This !
However this won't solve your issue as you have PT installed. I also realize this was for tiger and obviously you're running SL.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2010, 02:19 PM
Fritz12534 Fritz12534 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 50
Default Re: Can't use 002R with iTunes as an audio output

I'm not with my system now, so I'll check later, but if understand correctly, it will only serve as your output device for one client at a time, where you'd need to quit PT and then launch iTunes. With 8.03 for me it seems to just do it automatically, as long as 002R is selcted as oputput in OS preferences.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2010, 11:23 PM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: Can't use 002R with iTunes as an audio output

Yeah... I noticed long time ago that you can not run PT and iTunes at the same time using 002R as an audio interface ( selection in preferences of audio output). Well... I solved my previous problem by quitting PT, iTunes, re-starting computer, and than selecting audio output to 002R before launching iTunes. However, for some reason I can't use 002R with Quick Time Player ( current version 10.0(113), I didn't update) on Snow Leopard at all.
In the past I was using 002R as audio output interface with Tiger, Leopard etc. Ever since I got iMac i7 with SL, and installed PT 8.0.3, the Quick Time Player's audio signal can not be played through Fire Wire Digi 002R. It's like 002R can not be even assigned as an output for QT. For iTunes is fine ( as long as PT is not running). Did you experience the same issue with QT Player ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surround output from 002R using Logic 8 and Digicore audio 8 Tracktherighttake 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 07-15-2009 07:36 AM
iTunes audio output through Digi hardware? Audiodude Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-17-2006 10:13 PM
002R as system audio output mrhappyballoon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-16-2006 04:18 PM
using mBox as audio output for iTunes aandina 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-15-2006 10:02 AM
Can I get itunes to output through my 192 IO in OS X ??? lancejorton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-30-2003 12:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com