Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2019, 01:38 PM
ramonetl ramonetl is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 246
Default AAE error -9173 with Pro Tools 2018.12 on macOS 10.14 Mojave

Hey all, I did some searching but have not easily found a solution unless i missed it. The short of it is that since I upgraded to Mac OSX mojave i get cpu 9173 errors. I have not had these since I dumped my macbook and bought a Mac Pro 6 core that I upgraded to 64GB of ram. I could run all day non stop without so much as a burp. I use an apollo 8p quad chained with a Apollo Twin quad and a quad satellite. I keep all software current and this is frustrating that I cant sometime play through an entire project that is basically done without the crash. Its super frustrating. i am curious if anyone else had this and decided its time to start over. Im seriously thinking of wiping my mac and going back to High Sierra version which worked flawlessly for me. Please no snide comments about unsupported OS versions. My PT version is 2018.12. Is it worth troubleshooting looking for plugins that may be at fault? Im running some toontrack stuff that I have used for years (ezmix SD3). It would be a big job to start over but it might well be worth it. Thoughts? Thanks again all. Peter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2019, 02:10 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 871
Default Re: Should I ditch Mojave OSX because of CPU 9173 errors?

I would probably in your shoes roll back. And use another start up disk with Mojave to tinker around with. Did you make a clone of high Sierra disk?? I'm still on 2018.7 with high Sierra. I don't see any reason to update os or protools at this moment. When we get the better 2019 playback engine I'll update.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2019, 02:21 PM
ramonetl ramonetl is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 246
Default Re: Should I ditch Mojave OSX because of CPU 9173 errors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by arche3 View Post
Did you make a clone of high Sierra disk?? I'm still on 2018.7 with high Sierra. I don't see any reason to update os or protools at this moment. When we get the better 2019 playback engine I'll update.
Hey in answer to this i did a full time machine backup and could roll back that way and have in the past but I have all my stuff backed up and am thinking a total clean install might be a better option. It will suck more to do but its really not a huge deal save time consuming and I think I would get that fresh system performance. I did this when I first got it and upgraded the 256gb SSD to a 1TB one at the same time I did the memory. It used to boot super fast but now its not that snappy on reboots. Probably just got a lot of clutter in the file system at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2019, 02:31 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,221
Default Re: Should I ditch Mojave OSX because of CPU 9173 errors?

if you can, stick with it for some time... Mojave isn't supported yet but a compatibility update must be right around the corner
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2019, 03:33 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,272
Default Re: Should I ditch Mojave OSX because of CPU 9173 errors?

Disabling Hyperthreading resolved all CPU-error issues on Mojave for me. Might be worth a try.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2019, 05:29 PM
ramonetl ramonetl is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 246
Default Re: Should I ditch Mojave OSX because of CPU 9173 errors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
Disabling Hyperthreading resolved all CPU-error issues on Mojave for me. Might be worth a try.
I just downloaded cpusetter and did this. Ill follow up if it works better. Thanks for the tip.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2019, 04:54 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 871
Default Re: Should I ditch Mojave OSX because of CPU 9173 errors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramonetl View Post
Hey in answer to this i did a full time machine backup and could roll back that way and have in the past but I have all my stuff backed up and am thinking a total clean install might be a better option. It will suck more to do but its really not a huge deal save time consuming and I think I would get that fresh system performance. I did this when I first got it and upgraded the 256gb SSD to a 1TB one at the same time I did the memory. It used to boot super fast but now its not that snappy on reboots. Probably just got a lot of clutter in the file system at this point.
Hmm. Yeah. Maybe fresh Install to rule out any weird software things.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2019, 05:47 PM
dez811 dez811 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta Ga
Posts: 53
Default 9173

Hello I have a new Mac mini with 64gb ram, 512gb hard drive 6 core i7 running 2018.12 on Mojavi and I cannot figure out the 9173 errors. I'm running this machine lean with just protools and some effects, console one and uad, my ilok drivers are up to date every thing is up to date. I don't record just mix to a second ssd, I have done the optimizations don't use wifi or bluetooth changed my track pad and keyboard to wired. I have removed the plugins and added them one at a time, I have even removed the plugins from the plugin folder. this is really annoying and should not happen I have used all of the daws out and they are. not perfect either but they never crash as often as pro tools the only people I know who don't have issues are people running pro tools 10. I even set the cache side to 40gb dynamic processing on and off nothing same old crash. I have gone though the threads and basically there are a bunch of people like me who have this issue with minimal participation from avid. pro tools has never crashed this much, but for as long as I have been using pro tools it has always crashed more than the others. any help would be appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2019, 07:15 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,717
Default Re: 91

Well firstly, no current version of Pro Tools is officially qualified.

Whilst what you’re experiencing is not uncommon, I’d be waiting til an official release that supports Mojave comes out before you can REALLY confirm your problems.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2019, 07:53 PM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 225
Default Re: 91

Mojave or not, the infamous -9173 error has been wrecking havoc for quite some time now.
I'm on High Sierra at work and Mojave at home. This error is perpetuous!

I hope the 2019 update will finally eradicate this error and other show-stopping errors that have not been fixed each "bug fixes" update releases.
I prefer working with Pro Tools. Tried other DAWs (Logic, MOTU's DP) and have come back to PT.
But it's been too long for Avid to fix this error - even many paying clients have seen this number on a frozen computer screen!
The $400 ripoff annual subscription price tag (with its perpetual bugs and lackluster features) makes it even harder to not be frustrated at Avid!
__________________
PT Ultimate 2019.10
PT HDX
Magma ExpressBox3T PCIe Thunderbolt Exp Chassis
Blackmagic Multidock, SSDs
iMac Pro
64 GB ram
OS X Mojave
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and macOS Mojave BillDog793 Pro Tools 2018 121 03-07-2019 05:37 AM
Error 9173 on Pro Tools 2018.12 Multi-Track Mind Pro Tools 2018 2 01-07-2019 02:16 AM
PT 2018.7 on MacOS 10.14 Mojave works for me veinticinco Pro Tools 2018 38 12-09-2018 08:35 AM
Pro Tools 2018 on Mojave does not register any incoming audio anbrecordingsrf@yahoo.com macOS 3 10-29-2018 05:32 PM
Error 9173 running 11.3 on macOS Sierra SimonB_01 Pro Tools 11 2 04-29-2017 05:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com