Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 03-17-2014, 02:57 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

1.5.5 up.

Now backs up catalogues.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-17-2014, 08:26 AM
triplex triplex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 41
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
Special 10.6.8 version created, go to first page on this thread. I don't have 10.6.8 here at the moment so be careful!

Pete
Great, thanks Pete!

A few bugs I've noticed so far:
  1. Backing up Pro Tools Prefs (pre 11) copies whole "Preferences" folder.
  2. Backing up Catalogs, IO Settings, Plugin Maps and Session Templates (all pre 11) results in "An exception of class NilObjectException was not handled. The application must shut down." error.
__________________
PT 12.8.0
Mac OS X 10.9.5
MacPro2,1 Quad-Core Intel Xeon
16GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-17-2014, 09:32 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

I'll have a look and get back to you.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-17-2014, 10:37 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by triplex View Post
Great, thanks Pete!

A few bugs I've noticed so far:
  1. Backing up Pro Tools Prefs (pre 11) copies whole "Preferences" folder.
  2. Backing up Catalogs, IO Settings, Plugin Maps and Session Templates (all pre 11) results in "An exception of class NilObjectException was not handled. The application must shut down." error.
1.5.7 up, fixed the first I think. Partially fixed the second, need a bit more work - I only have 10 and 11 here, not used 9 for a while - can you verify the path for those folders on your system?

Pete

Last edited by Pete Gates; 03-17-2014 at 11:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-18-2014, 02:21 AM
gugu gugu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 356
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Hi Pete and thanks.

With 1.5.7 the backup of I/O settings (pre 11) is crashing the app.

OS X.9.2 / Nehalem Quad / PT HDX w/ coinstall 11.1.2/10.3.8

gugu
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-18-2014, 04:49 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by gugu View Post
Hi Pete and thanks.

With 1.5.7 the backup of I/O settings (pre 11) is crashing the app.

OS X.9.2 / Nehalem Quad / PT HDX w/ coinstall 11.1.2/10.3.8

gugu
Hi 1.5.8 up. Fixes (hopefully) some frankly lazy code that was added to backup stuff in older Digidesign rather than Avid application folders. Try it and get back to me.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-18-2014, 05:49 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

1.6.0 is up

Now has elementary version checking - if it can get to the internet it'll show you the latest version available in this thread and you can click to come to this thread and download it. May do something bit slicker in the future! But at least it shows you, as there've been a lot of updates in the last few weeks and some bugs fixed.

This sends no data to me or anyone else. It just downloads a tiny text file to check the version available - it does not actually do the download. You can click on the button to come to this thread and it's up to you whether you download it or not.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-19-2014, 01:37 AM
gugu gugu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 356
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Thanks for the fix Pete.
1.6.0 works fine
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-19-2014, 08:39 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by gugu View Post
Thanks for the fix Pete.
1.6.0 works fine
Cool, I'll try and be more careful before I break it again!

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-25-2014, 10:53 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

1.6.1 up, minor stuff over 1.6.0

Pete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated: ProTools Prefs & Database Helper JC925602 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-25-2009 06:35 PM
updated: ProTools Prefs & Database Helper JC925602 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 06-24-2009 01:48 PM
ProTools Prefs & Database Helper/le8 and 10.5.5 b mcgibney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-23-2009 01:00 PM
ProTools Prefs & Database Helper meric 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-17-2007 12:50 AM
No Sound-help!! After deleting Digisetup, PT prefs and DAE prefs bigthinka9 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-24-2002 08:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com