Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2011, 12:43 AM
witrelo witrelo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 3
Default HD Native Card Possibly Fried My Graphics Card

Duuuuuuuuuuuuudes,

Some of you may have read my other two posts about updating to PT 9.0.5. Well, I noticed in the PT 9.0.4 update .pdf a mention of installing the Native Card in Slot 3 or 4, not Slot 2 of a Mac "Woodcrest", or "Clovertown" Mac.

I said, Huh!!! I thought I had a Mac Mac? So I figured out that those were the first Intel Mac processors and then I also realized that's what I'm rocking.
Since installing the HD Card in my Mac, I noticed my screen would go black then come back on. Now, my people, I'm a busy dude. Lots of stuff on my mind. I did not equate the two at the time.

Now my computer won't display through the old display. I have two. Tried both in both ports. No dice.

I can't be certain, and I will let you know after I get my computer back from repair, but I THINK MY HD NATIVE CARD FRIED MY GRAPHICS CARD!!!!!!!!

Too bad PT 9.0.4 wasn't a critical update!!!! Then again, I probably would have been like, WTF is a Woodcrest or Clovertown Mac and got back to working on a computer with a display that goes black intermittently.

This is the cost of doing business, and I blame it on Mac really. But, I had an HD Accel Core card in the same slot for two years and did not have this problem. So, YES, MY HD NATIVE CARD FRIED MY GRAPHICS CARD!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2011, 12:46 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,752
Default Re: HD Native Card Possibly Fried My Graphics Card

Video card might not be fried; could be the power supply being it's an older machine according to what you say. A couple of things to try are: clean any dust out of the air passages in the Mac's case and any fans in the case and on the video card - these can clog up like crazy and cause malfunctions like you're talking about here. Also re-seat all cards and any connectors.

I highly doubt the HD Native card fried your Mac's video card.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EMI Noise: Graphics card to HD Native card jacknprewitt Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 10-19-2013 10:02 PM
HD Native card fried - easy to replace? plugues Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 11-14-2012 05:29 AM
Venue + mix rack + hdx card + pro tools hd native card ? hart07 VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 05-23-2012 01:02 PM
Fried PCI-e Accel card? soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-19-2008 04:11 PM
my new 8 input card is fried HELP DIGI studiojimi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-15-2007 11:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com