How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-07-2008, 01:17 PM

Default HOW IMPORTANT ARE UPDATES I AM REALLY REALLY CONFUSED

Please respond after reading

This is my first time with apple Imac and Pro Tools, would i be right in thinking that if i only use my Imac with an external Carrilon 200 gigabite hard drive that updates are just something you might want to add on or are they a vital part of the computer. I mean if i am content working with what i have got as i write like folks songs country etc i dont need all the latest plugin add ons etc ...or do i thats my point if i dont update am i likely to fall behind with technology and also does my computer need to have some of these updates as i never go on the internet with this Imac i have a dell to do that and use the ilok to download the keys for the plugins etc. Is there a page that talks about the Pros and the cons of updating all the time, if you feel like me please let me know as i feel that all these updates and newer versions actually keep me away from studying what matters and writing music. As you can see from this email. Thanks for taking the time to read my email and caring enough to help me about this persistant worry at the back of my mind that some fatal error will happen because i didnt download the latest update what ever it might be, All i want to do is a write a song hh[list][list] CONFUSED mmmmm

Regards Patrick
Old 05-07-2008, 01:33 PM

Default Re: HOW IMPORTANT ARE UPDATES I AM REALLY REALLY CONFUSED