Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-31-2005, 04:27 PM

Default mix levels low when bounced to disk

This may show that I am a complete newbie to mixing.

I use a master fader, get everything sounding pretty good in protools, and get it so that the signal is up almost at the peak level in the master fader. Then I bounce to disk, play it in iTunes and sound level is low when I look at the level meters there. It often won't come even close to peaking. How do I get the final sound level up?

Also, I bounce using Analog 1-2, Aiff, Stereo Interleaved, 24 bit res., 48000 sample rate with best conversion quality and convert after bounce.

Thanks,

wizdoom
Old 03-31-2005, 05:46 PM

Default Re: mix levels low when bounced to disk

compress/limit the dynamic range of your audio file. you likely have some big peaks somewhere in your audio file that need to be brought down so the whole level of your mix can be raised. i currently use the L2 (waves) but i don't do much mastering. if you import a song off a pop cd into pro tools, the waveform basically looks like a block because it has been compressed so hard.

Old 04-01-2005, 12:56 AM

A limiter and/or compressor will allow you to raise the overall level and prevent the few higher peaks from clipping. The end result is an apparently louder recording.
Old 04-01-2005, 06:58 AM

Quote:

Also, I bounce using Analog 1-2, Aiff, Stereo Interleaved, 24 bit res., 48000 sample rate with best conversion quality and convert after bounce.