Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2018, 12:26 PM
KStrocher KStrocher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Burnaby, Canada
Posts: 4
Default Protools 9 - free upgrade to 10 re-install issues

I had to wipe my 2012 Macbook Pro that runs OS X, 10.7.5. I have reloaded the Protools 9 drivers, and Protools 9 install discs, then logged into my AVID account and installed my free Protools 10 upgrade, but the Protools ICON has a light grey ? imbedded in it and it will not open - after installing the Protools 9 - it would not open either saying it is not compatible with my OS. I go into digidesign- the MIDI 10 window and a pop up box says "No digidesign MIDI I/O interfaces were detected. Please make sure that your interfaces are properly connected, then quit and relaunch this application. Your MIDI I/O driver and firmware must be version 2.0 or higher. Quit" I have an MBOX with 2 gain knobs, and a volume knob - the ilok - which I reinstalled. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2018, 01:43 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,901
Default Re: Protools 9 - free upgrade to 10 re-install issues

Would love to be able to help but can't due to lack of complete system info. Did you reinstall OSX 10.7.5 or another OSX version? What specific audio interface do you have? Do you have the PT10 license asset on your iLok? Why did you go looking in the MIDI I/O window? Did you install the drivers for your interface?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2018, 05:08 PM
KStrocher KStrocher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Burnaby, Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Protools 9 - free upgrade to 10 re-install issues

Thanks for reaching out Jack. I did reinstall the same OS, and when I reinstalled the drivers and unplugged the MBOX, restarted, then plugged the MBOX back in, it all came up. Woohoo! The only issue I have now is my sessions that I have used Expand2 - those tracks are not working within the session, its like the Expand2 is lost or disabled. Are you able to help?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2018, 05:31 PM
KStrocher KStrocher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Burnaby, Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Protools 9 - free upgrade to 10 re-install issues

More Info: I have tried going to the Marketplace within Protools, and it shows 404. I have signed into my account with AVID and searched Xpand2, and nothing comes up. I purchased Protools 9, and have the discs, and the solution I have found thus far is to "Run the Avid Virtual Instruments 10 installer"… I don't know how to do that with only Protools 9 discs. thx for anyone able to offer some help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2018, 04:34 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,901
Default Re: Protools 9 - free upgrade to 10 re-install issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by KStrocher View Post
More Info: I have tried going to the Marketplace within Protools, and it shows 404. I have signed into my account with AVID and searched Xpand2, and nothing comes up. I purchased Protools 9, and have the discs, and the solution I have found thus far is to "Run the Avid Virtual Instruments 10 installer"… I don't know how to do that with only Protools 9 discs. thx for anyone able to offer some help.
XPand2 along with several other plugins formerly by Avid are now available from Air Instruments.

I looked at a page that has PT downloads and it doesn't have much if anything about PT10. I'm going to assume that because you have an upgrade to PT10 that the installers are in your account. Access the 'My Products and Registrations' page and you should have a line item showing for PT10. Open that and click on 'product details and download links'. There should be a line item there for 'Avid virtual instruments' with a download link.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2018, 09:03 PM
KStrocher KStrocher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Burnaby, Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Protools 9 - free upgrade to 10 re-install issues

Hi Jack,

Thank you! That worked! I really appreciate you taking the time to help out. The beat goes on! Cheers :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2018, 06:47 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,901
Default Re: Protools 9 - free upgrade to 10 re-install issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by KStrocher View Post
Hi Jack,

Thank you! That worked! I really appreciate you taking the time to help out. The beat goes on! Cheers :)
Not a problem. Now go make some music
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 9, mbox mini install issues reynolds Post - Surround - Video 1 03-26-2013 11:03 PM
Protools 9 Free upgrade to 10??? HOW?? dhkkorea Pro Tools 9 2 03-06-2012 10:05 PM
Pro Tools 8.0.5 upgrade issues - Anyway to downgrade without an install disc? ProToolsGuy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-31-2011 10:55 PM
Need to reinstall Leopard – will I be able to install my free PT8 upgrade again? DanielWiklander Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-18-2009 05:27 AM
My free upgrade to ProTools 5.0 foleym General Discussion 0 12-16-1999 12:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com