Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2004, 02:34 PM
bgbari bgbari is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
Default Headphone Mixes

I have the digi 002 and want to create 4 seperate headphone mixes. In other words each guy has control of what he wants to hear. (Drummers always want more of themselves and less vocals) Is this possible without purchasing a ton of equipment? If not, what do I nedd?

Thanks for the help!!

Brandon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2004, 03:51 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Headphone Mixes

You need 4 headphone amps and 4 sets of headphones and the cables to go from the 002 line outs to each. Use aux sends to hardware outputs. You have five sends per track, so you can create up to five seperate headphone mixes that way. You could also create 4 aux inputs for each instrument and send each one to a different set of hardware outs...but that would cause quite a large mixer to navigate about.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2004, 04:36 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: Headphone Mixes

i would recomend the behringer powerplay pro headphone amp

then after u set up ur aux sends in pro tools u can send it out
of a hardware output on the 002 then patch that into the direct input
of the headphone amp. and when u come out of the 002 u can either use a stereo
aux send or mono if u use stereo its gonna use more of ur hardware outputs and u would
need insert cables so u have a stereo signal or u can just do it mono and use 1 output of the
002 and into the direct in put of the headphone amp then press the Mute Right button and the
Mono button...
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2004, 09:14 AM
wertt wertt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 44
Default Re: Headphone Mixes

i'm doing this with the oz audio hm-6. you can buy it online at riks music for $260 (they also carry it at sweetwater, etc). i have outputs 2-6 running into the matrix which allow for 6 different headphone mixes. i can run protools le with my hardware buffer at 64 samples, which works quite well. this was by far the cheapest and easiest solution i could come up with.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2004, 08:25 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,016
Default Re: Headphone Mixes

The Behringer HA4700 has 4 sections so you can use it for 4 mixes. You can also dump a stereo mix into all the sections and send 4 outs from your 002 into the 4 sections so each player can have "more me" on top of the main mix if you like.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-17-2004, 02:18 PM
jvk jvk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 3
Default Re: Headphone Mixes

how do you deal with soloing tracks in pro tools without effecting the headphone mixes?

jvk
__________________
jvk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-17-2004, 03:34 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: Headphone Mixes

Quote:
how do you deal with soloing tracks in pro tools without effecting the headphone mixes?

jvk
because you would set the Aux Sends to Pre Fader
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-17-2004, 03:49 PM
cybership cybership is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 211
Default Re: Headphone Mixes

Quote:
You need 4 headphone amps and 4 sets of headphones and the cables to go from the 002 line outs to each. Use aux sends to hardware outputs.
This is the textbook method to set up a headphone cue however it will not work for PT LE if you need low latency monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2004, 07:15 AM
Straatocastoer Straatocastoer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Hollis, NH, USA
Posts: 401
Default Re: Headphone Mixes

I personally own and recommend the Furman HDS-6 system. Should fill all of your requirements.
__________________
-Stan-

CrossFire Studios
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2004, 05:53 AM
katoramone katoramone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 172
Default Re: Headphone Mixes

Your furman link wont load BTW. but they are nice, i know then and not too costly...but i use the behringer...its fine. Actually the aux ins per channel make for neat blending tricks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
headphone mixes in pt hd joeymusicguy Tips & Tricks 7 03-26-2010 07:00 PM
Headphone mixes; how to toddbux General Discussion 5 09-23-2009 02:47 PM
Headphone mixes paul_g 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-09-2008 09:56 AM
HEADPHONE MIXES SWC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-31-2003 04:31 PM
Headphone Mixes Punx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-18-2002 04:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com