Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2020, 04:29 AM
jmacke2174 jmacke2174 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2
Default Fasttrack Pro inputs

I have been using a Fasttrack Pro for some time with Garageband on a mid 2010 Macbook Pro, just using it for single input multitrack recording. I now play with two other people and would like to do simultaneous multitrack recording requiring 5 tracks. I was hoping to run the output of my mixing desk in some way towards acheiving this. My Macbook does have two USB ports, and I do have a second device "IMic" which does work to have a second pair of inputs to the computer. I was wondering if I could use the insert jacks on the back of the Fasttrack to have an extra pair of inputs ? All the references I can find seem to refer to using these inputs with an outboard device such as a compressor. I am almost sure they are inputs, but if I connect my mixer output to them, it seems to disable the main inputs on the front panel. My mixer also has SPDIF , but I dont understand how to use that. Perhaps I am just being stupid, but I thought the Fastrack Pro was a 4in 4 out device?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2020, 01:29 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,222
Default Re: Fasttrack Pro inputs

Not the answer you likely want, but I'd say its time to move up to a bigger and better interface. If the mixer has a USB connection, you might be able to setup "aggregate", but using a more suitable interface is a better solution. Focusrite, MOTU, Presonus and RME all make interfaces that will handle more IO and will probably sound better too(M-Audio interfaces are/were mostly "budget" choices).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2020, 02:03 PM
jmacke2174 jmacke2174 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2
Default Re: Fasttrack Pro inputs

Thankyou Dave for your reply. I have been looking at other interfaces ,but to have 6 or 8 inputs on a device is a big jump in cost. I can already aggregate all of the inputs on my Macbook and I am able to multitrack 4 simultaneous tracks. It is not ideal the way I have it all wired up. At this moment in time I am not really looking for perfect quality sound, just the ability to isolate our individual tracks for rehearsal / experimental purposes. I can also use "built in input" on the Macbook as part of the aggregate inputs. I realise the Macbook is limited to a Max of 8 simultaneous inputs when using Garageband. I also have Logic Pro and Protools, but find them a bit too complicated to use for my simple needs. I may have access to a Focusrite device with 6 inputs, due to a friend with several interfaces. My Mixer does not have USB connection, only SPDIF or analogue outputs. I might just sell a guitar or two and upgrade the setup !!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2020, 09:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,222
Default Re: Fasttrack Pro inputs

https://www.behringer.com/Categories...oogtrans(en|en)

Less than $300 used
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OLD FastTrack jeremyseanbell FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 3 02-26-2015 11:50 PM
Amps necessary for FastTrack USB? passion4music Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 06-13-2012 04:21 AM
Fasttrack Pro Hum! ChitySomapala Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 07-25-2008 06:48 AM
Fasttrack PRO greg1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 9 04-29-2008 05:55 AM
Fasttrack ikke Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 12-11-2005 08:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com