Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #111  
Old 10-07-2010, 10:02 AM
kinghand kinghand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 216
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
This is more accurate. From the Airusers blog.


Here's a quick chart to show street prices and what the street price for an Avid system could end up at:

Apple Logic - $500
Apogee Symphony 64 - $995
Apogee Symphony IO - $1700
16 input card - $2000
16 output card - $2000

TOTAL - $7200

Avid Pro Tools HD FREE
Avid PT HD Native - $3000
Avid HD I/O 16in/out - $3650

TOTAL - $6650

What if I don't need so many IOs? I can use whatever a sound card that is compatible with Mac OS. This will only cost me 1500 bucks to get start with Logic. But I can't get started with Protools HD Native at this price. It's funny!
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 10-07-2010, 10:08 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by kinghand View Post
What if I don't need so many IOs? I can use whatever a sound card that is compatible with Mac OS. This will only cost me 1500 bucks to get start with Logic. But I can't get started with Protools HD Native at this price. It's funny!
A Mac is not the only thing you need if you want to get serious with recording with Logic.

This is the biggest issue I have with people comparing prices. Yes... all by itself, Logic is much cheaper. But a Mac does not have decent I/O. Sure, you have some digital I/O and a tiny 1/8" line in... but if that satisfies your needs, you don't need HD.

It seems a lot of people want HD to say they have it, and wish they could get it for the price of Logic. That's never going to happen. If all you need a 2 I/O... get an MBox. If you need ADC... get Mellowmuse ATA. It's $50. If all you want out of Pro Tools is a few arbitrary features... you are using it for the wrong reasons, afaic. There are indeed other more affordable systems out there. Those of us who are willing to pay the premium, are those of us who use Pro Tools for more than the features it doesn't have.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 10-07-2010, 11:21 AM
dcboucher dcboucher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: LA, CA 90025
Posts: 94
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
This is more accurate. From the Airusers blog.


Here's a quick chart to show street prices and what the street price for an Avid system could end up at:

Apple Logic - $500
Apogee Symphony 64 - $995
Apogee Symphony IO - $1700
16 input card - $2000
16 output card - $2000

TOTAL - $7200

Avid Pro Tools HD FREE
Avid PT HD Native - $3000
Avid HD I/O 16in/out - $3650

TOTAL - $6650
Those are list prices on the Apogee I/O and street prices on the Avid I/O. Are the Apogee prices non-negotiable? I certainly haven't seen the Avid I/O advertised below list (even at Alto Music) so I wouldn't be so sure that you couldn't come in a little closer than that using street prices for Apogee. If you were to compare them straight up at list, the Avid setup would be 800 bucks more than the Logic/Apogee rig ($3000 HD Native + $5000 Avid IO 16x16). Am I confused?
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 10-07-2010, 11:52 AM
hummerZ hummerZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 264
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

You get what you pay for.

Compare prices all you want. I wouldn't care if Logic were free.. IT BLOWS.

Apologies.
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 10-07-2010, 12:02 PM
xxicjoy xxicjoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 120
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
Absolutely not. Logic is not Logic LE. Logic includes everything in the software version for $500. Pro Tools LE is missing many many many software features beyond just ADC.

My point is that if somebody wants to work in Pro Tools HD, you have to pay $6.5k. If somebody wants to work on Logic, they can pay as little as $750.
I know plenty of people who do great work on 002's and 003's as well. I think the thing to wrap our heads around is the target audience for HD systems is not songwriters, composers, or anyone who might use Logic, DP, Cuebase, nuendo etc. The target audience is Audio Post production, film dubbing stages, live music venues. While I dont think this is a watershed moment it is a move toward the disappearance of TDM and process cards. the key for that IMO will be the revamp or replacement of RTAS, which is hopefully down the line. Not to start a Logic bashing thread but I use both and LP9 has put that program in a downward spiral IMO. Buggy and no bug fixes in about six months.
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 10-07-2010, 12:07 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxicjoy View Post
I know plenty of people who do great work on 002's and 003's as well. I think the thing to wrap our heads around is the target audience for HD systems is not songwriters, composers, or anyone who might use Logic, DP, Cuebase, nuendo etc. The target audience is Audio Post production, film dubbing stages, live music venues. While I dont think this is a watershed moment it is a move toward the disappearance of TDM and process cards. the key for that IMO will be the revamp or replacement of RTAS, which is hopefully down the line. Not to start a Logic bashing thread but I use both and LP9 has put that program in a downward spiral IMO. Buggy and no bug fixes in about six months.
As was said before... TDM ain't going anywhere.

Native was never meant as a replacement, only as a step between LE and HD.

Dedicated processing will always have its place in audio. Avid is going to refresh their TDM cards, for sure.

Personally, I see great potential for Native in both music and post. But you're right... plenty of great work comes from 002/003s. Can't say my 003 has ever done me wrong.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 10-07-2010, 12:15 PM
Soundtrack2life Soundtrack2life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 224
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxicjoy View Post
Not to start a Logic bashing thread but I use both and LP9 has put that program in a downward spiral IMO. Buggy and no bug fixes in about six months.
Although I have owned L8 since it first came out but I actually only started using recently. I like it alot for certain things. FWIW I still prefer to mix in PT. I was considering upgrading to L9 but I may want to rethink that if there problems with it. . . . Anyway I am glad to see that there is movement from Avid regarding PT. And I think that the Native systems are a step in the right direction for future development. However I don't plan on updating anything any time soon and I am very happy with my PT HD2 system!
Joe
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:46 PM
hiltonius hiltonius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Newtown, CT
Posts: 143
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

please guys, keep talking. you're keeping the value of my HD3 Accel rig up long enough for me to sell it to buy this thing.

so please - keep saying what a waste this is, how it'll never replace TDM, etc etc.

let me know if anyone wants my HD3 Accel cards and 192 interface please via private mail.
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:50 PM
myhrik myhrik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 65
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
A Mac is not the only thing you need if you want to get serious with recording with Logic.

This is the biggest issue I have with people comparing prices. Yes... all by itself, Logic is much cheaper. But a Mac does not have decent I/O. Sure, you have some digital I/O and a tiny 1/8" line in... but if that satisfies your needs, you don't need HD.

It seems a lot of people want HD to say they have it, and wish they could get it for the price of Logic. That's never going to happen. If all you need a 2 I/O... get an MBox. If you need ADC... get Mellowmuse ATA. It's $50. If all you want out of Pro Tools is a few arbitrary features... you are using it for the wrong reasons, afaic. There are indeed other more affordable systems out there. Those of us who are willing to pay the premium, are those of us who use Pro Tools for more than the features it doesn't have.
+1
__________________
Eirik Myhr
film/tv composer
Oslo, Norway
---
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad-Core, 8 GB RAM | 192 I/O | HD2 Accel | UAD2 Duo | Mac OS 10.6.4 | Pro Tools HD 9.02 | HEAT | UAD Plugins 5.4.1 | Novation Automap 3.0
NI Komplete 6 with Kontakt 4.0 + libraries: | L.A. Scoring Strings | Symphobia | True Strike 1 + 2 | Galaxy II | Scarbee K.G.B.
SoundToys Native 3.1.1 | Waves Ren. Maxx TDM 7.1 | Melodyne Plugin 1.0.4 | Superior Drummer 2.2.1 | Addictive Drums 1.5.1 | Ampeg SVX 1.1.3

Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 10-07-2010, 03:19 PM
Tony Cariddi's Avatar
Tony Cariddi Tony Cariddi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 95
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
Thanks Tony.. Will there be a bone thrown in for the CPTK finally? I'd hate to think it was a dead-end.
No details to share at the moment but CPTK will not be dead ended. There will be bones to throw.
__________________
Tony Cariddi
Avid
Marketing Director
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Native now on Digi website nst7 Post - Surround - Video 1 10-06-2010 05:17 PM
How do I BUY an update on the Digi website? Mike Harrison 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 11-04-2009 01:23 PM
Digi-website slow Edo Peters General Discussion 2 01-01-2008 06:44 PM
About the video of MDW Eq on Digi website Alkimera General Discussion 1 10-11-2007 09:37 AM
Digi website kaput! Charouhas General Discussion 1 03-04-2001 03:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com