Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2007, 12:57 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default MIDI Keyboard muting out notes?

I have a PT MIDI track playing back notes from Reason.
When I play a different MIDI keyboard (not in the same track) it cancels/mutes out the notes in my drum track. The second keyboard is not assigned to the same Reason instrument/track, and not assigned to a track in PT. Is this a Reason thing or something else? Reason is supposed to allow different MIDI controllers/keyboards. My MIDI keyboards are connected through USB ...could this be a culprit? Very annoying when trying to play a Piano track, etc., while the drums tracks are playing back and the hi hats, etc are "muted" depending on what keys I play.


G4 1.25 MDD 1.75ghz RAM
OS 10.4.7
PT 7.2.1
Reason 3.0.4
Keystation 49
Trigger Finger
D-Link 7 port USB Hub (could be a problem?)
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:37 AM
bassntreble bassntreble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 448
Default Re: MIDI Keyboard muting out notes?

What's happening is you're triggering the solo and mutes for the individual slots of redrum. 1st octave on the midi keyboard triggers notes, 2nd triggers mutes, 3rd triggers solos....kinda cool for doing some drops on the fly.

bring reason to the front, in the sequencer window make sure the drum track doesn't have the little midi icon on the left hand side of the track title. That little icon means the track is set to respond to data from the controller set up in the prefs, sort of a record enable. better yet, if you're doing all of your midi inside of protools, go into reason prefs->Midi and disable the midi input from an external controller altogether.

I usually delete all of the sequencer tracks in the sequencer window and leave the rack instruments, then do all of my midi in PT.

hope this helps.
__________________
G5 1.8X2/3gigRAM/Mbox/7.4 (retired)
MBP C2D 2.4/4GigRAM/Mbox/8.0.1
iMac i7 3.4/16GigRAM/10.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:50 AM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: MIDI Keyboard muting out notes?

Very interesting... Doesn't the MIDI icon mean that is the track the sound will route through?
Seems if no track is selected, then the keyboard will play more than one device i.e. Redrum & NN19
You may have a point about disabling the external controller in Reason...


Thanks!
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2007, 05:37 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: MIDI Keyboard muting out notes?

Well, I checked in Reason and none of the MIDI devices/controllers are listed.
The problem still happens, and exactly as you mentioned that the upper octaves on the keyboard
are either soloing or muting the drum notes. I have no sequencer tracks in Reason, and if I delete the Redrum track, it deletes Redrum... Am I missing something??
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Keyboard not triggering midi notes ljones macOS 0 10-17-2012 05:57 PM
Pro Tools + SSD + 61-note MIDI Keyboard = missing low notes! k0000 The Drum Room 9 03-04-2011 09:19 PM
Muting Midi notes in Structure MR.brown Virtual Instruments 0 03-16-2009 03:24 PM
Muting MIDI notes daeron80 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-27-2008 07:11 PM
Is it possible to record MIDI notes without a MIDI Keyboard? pianoman_78 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-27-2007 06:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com