Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2005, 09:26 AM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default SampleTank2 screen keyboard: recording MIDI notes?

For ST2 users,

There is a way to select chords in ST2 (bottom right menu). Is there a way to capture whatever is played as MIDI notes? I'm not a keyboard player, so being able to play chords by clicking the root with the mouse is great... except that I don't know how to save the MIDI notes. Thanks
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2005, 10:56 AM
Palli-Moon Palli-Moon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Posts: 105
Default Re: SampleTank2 screen keyboard: recording MIDI no

press rec?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2005, 01:26 PM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default Re: SampleTank2 screen keyboard: recording MIDI no

really smart answer, you surely must have tried... Since you know, then how do you route the MIDI notes from the virtual keyboard to a MIDI track?
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-2005, 01:51 PM
Palli-Moon Palli-Moon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Posts: 105
Default Re: SampleTank2 screen keyboard: recording MIDI no

Actuallu I don't know [bleep] about that :P But I mean can't you just play with the virtual keyboard like you had a midi controller? You know just press rec and trying to play..? Off course you could allways draw the notes with the pensil tool...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2005, 02:49 AM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default Re: SampleTank2 screen keyboard: recording MIDI no

Thanks for trying to help. Clearly, drawing MIDI notes with the pencil is the last resort that one can always fall back on. My question was very specific, I don't want to record Audio, i want to record MIDI. So the crux is whether the virtual keyboard can be routed to a MIDI track, THEN I would record that MIDI track when I play. But it doesn't seem like such routing is part of ST2.
I'm gonna look at another route, which is a MIDI utility that I could use from a real keyboard, and that would play chords just like the ST2 virtual keyboard does. Thanks anyways.
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Keyboard not triggering midi notes ljones macOS 0 10-17-2012 05:57 PM
Recording Midi notes and keeping existing notes during record Sherbert99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-15-2008 09:40 AM
Is it possible to record MIDI notes without a MIDI Keyboard? pianoman_78 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-27-2007 06:13 AM
MIDI Keyboard muting out notes? soundboy35 MIDI 3 02-19-2007 05:37 PM
Recording to a midi track with SampleTank2 Harpo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-11-2005 09:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com