Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2017, 04:51 PM
J-S-Q J-S-Q is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 214
Default Fader Fault Detection Issue -EuControl 3.7

The following is in the list of improvements with EuControl v3.7:

"• It was possible for EuControl to incorrectly report that one or more S3 faders were failing or faulty"

However, since upgrading to 3.7, I am having the opposite problem. One of my faders will stop working and where previously I would get a popup window asking if I want to reset the controller, I now have to power down the S3 and power up again to resolve the issue.

Kind of a pain! Anyone else seeing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2017, 04:17 AM
J-S-Q J-S-Q is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 214
Default Re: Fader Fault Detection Issue -EuControl 3.7

Just to add... I think it's always the same fader doing this (fader 12). Does this suggest there is a physical problem with that fader? It works perfectly for hours but probably a couple of times a day it will stop working and require a power down.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2017, 09:20 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,373
Default Re: Fader Fault Detection Issue -EuControl 3.7

Yes, this is a real physical fader issue, contact customer service to get it changed. Let me know how you get on and I can jump in if there are any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2017, 09:28 AM
J-S-Q J-S-Q is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 214
Default Re: Fader Fault Detection Issue -EuControl 3.7

Thanks Eddie. Do you know if I will have to return the S3 to Avid or is a fader swap something I can do myself (i.e. doesn't involve soldering!)? My S3 is out of warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2017, 09:31 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,373
Default Re: Fader Fault Detection Issue -EuControl 3.7

I'm not sure, can you enquire and let me know in a PM and we can go from there.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2017, 09:33 AM
J-S-Q J-S-Q is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 214
Default Re: Fader Fault Detection Issue -EuControl 3.7

Will do. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2017, 07:06 AM
besse besse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Default Re: Fader Fault Detection Issue -EuControl 3.7

Same issue here. We have a S3 which has a defective fader (fader 10). Fader stays at top position after device init.

EuControl 3.3.2 reports a „Surface Error“, but 3.7 reports nothing. Please fix software/firmware to properly detect defective faders
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-17-2017, 10:12 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,373
Default Re: Fader Fault Detection Issue -EuControl 3.7

In 3.7 we removed the check for bad faders because there is no sure fired way to detect them with software. A bit of dust, a pen left on the surface or even the bounce of the end when doing the sweeep could all be detected as a failure. It's very easy to know when you have a defective fader without unreliable software trying.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-20-2017, 02:24 AM
besse besse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Default Re: Fader Fault Detection Issue -EuControl 3.7

In our case the fader stays at top position after initialization. This should be detected by EuControl.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-22-2017, 05:23 AM
besse besse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Default Re: Fader Fault Detection Issue -EuControl 3.7

Picture of fader issue after initialization
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6506_small.jpg (81.1 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FR] - fader re-assigning and eucontrol improvements Joris de Man Artist Series 0 01-03-2011 12:24 PM
FAder Issue D-Command kd_special ICON & C|24 9 07-10-2010 11:30 AM
Control 24 fader issue. brewcity1 ICON & C|24 3 09-16-2008 11:23 AM
Fader Issue... tim carter ICON & C|24 4 11-30-2007 04:57 PM
'Fader Pack' and ProControl Fader order issue Ciaran ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 03-22-2005 12:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com