Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2019, 12:24 PM
belasoul belasoul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 91
Default Delivering a PT Session to Nuendo

My next project will most likely be edited in PT Ulti (by me) and mixed within Nuendo here at a local facility.
The film is a 'standard' type fictional short, including common sound elements.
It would be great the preserve a decent amount of editing flexibility until/within the final mix.

What transfer workflow do you recommend?
Do you transfer via AAF's and/or stems?
How do PT's clip-effects translate in an AAF?
__________________
MacOs 10.13.6, RME Fireface UC / UAD Apollo, PT Ultimate 2019.12
Mac Pro 6.1/12-core,64GB RAM, Aja t-tap
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2019, 10:45 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 169
Default Re: Delivering a PT Session to Nuendo

I've done it a couple of times in both ways with AAFs.
Fades are a problem, as are effects.
Fade curves don't translate properly and they will sound different. It's therefore best to avoid long fades the result will not be what you expect.
Basic stuff like edits (in, out, clip gain up to Nuendo's 24 dB limit) work fine and accurately.
I believe stems are a bit limited, I would talk to the re-recording mixer.

You must define a way how you want to handle rendered effects, it's a good idea to keep an unedited copy on a dedicated track.

I've heard from a couple of Nuendo folks that a windows only tool called AATranslator is supposedly quite good, it can read (older) PT sessions and export Nuendo tracks. I've never used it, though.


Marker track will get lost, but you can use

https://www.soundsinsync.com/products/edimarker

for that. Hope it helps.
__________________
SOUND!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2019, 01:49 PM
belasoul belasoul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 91
Default Re: Delivering a PT Session to Nuendo

Thanks for your input!
-When you say "Fades are a problem, as are effects.", you mean PT Clip Effects. Do you know how these translate in an AAF, if at all?
-When you say "Basic stuff like edits (in, out, clip gain up to Nuendo's 24 dB limit) work fine and accurately.", you mean that the clip gain 'automation line' also translates accurately or only the overall db value of a clip?

I spoke to the mixer today. And i guess i will deliver a session which include processed Clips as well as printed stems and an untouched copy of the AAF Import i would add anyway.
But the fact that fades don't translate properly makes the workflow unsatisfactory, i guess.
__________________
MacOs 10.13.6, RME Fireface UC / UAD Apollo, PT Ultimate 2019.12
Mac Pro 6.1/12-core,64GB RAM, Aja t-tap
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2019, 02:01 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,182
Default Re: Delivering a PT Session to Nuendo

Quote:
Originally Posted by @tention View Post
I've done it a couple of times in both ways with AAFs.
Fades are a problem, as are effects.
Fade curves don't translate properly and they will sound different. It's therefore best to avoid long fades the result will not be what you expect.
Basic stuff like edits (in, out, clip gain up to Nuendo's 24 dB limit) work fine and accurately.
I believe stems are a bit limited, I would talk to the re-recording mixer.

You must define a way how you want to handle rendered effects, it's a good idea to keep an unedited copy on a dedicated track.

I've heard from a couple of Nuendo folks that a windows only tool called AATranslator is supposedly quite good, it can read (older) PT sessions and export Nuendo tracks. I've never used it, though.


Marker track will get lost, but you can use

https://www.soundsinsync.com/products/edimarker

for that. Hope it helps.
YES. AATranslator works great! A pal of mine has Nuendo and we used that program to import a Protools Mix for a feature, the entire thing .. All the Reels seamlessly a few years back. I think it creates files that Nuendo can read and imported everything. All the automation, etc..
OH YEAH. DID YOU SEE THAT THEY ADVERTISE THAT THEY WILL CONVERT A SESSION BEFORE YOU BUY TO SHOW YOU HOW IT WORKS? Those guys are really nice to deal with. I think they are from the Old Fairlight crowd.



G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2019.12 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2019, 01:40 PM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,230
Default Re: Delivering a PT Session to Nuendo

In respect of the fades I’ll jump in here to say that a command such as:

“Convert Fades to Volume Automaton”

or

“Coalesce Fades to Volume Automation”

are two features that would be a massive timesaver for my workflow, should they be ever implemented.
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-10-2019, 01:49 AM
Suite Spot Suite Spot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 10
Default Re: Delivering a PT Session to Nuendo

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
YES. AATranslator works great! A pal of mine has Nuendo and we used that program to import a Protools Mix for a feature, the entire thing .. All the Reels seamlessly a few years back. I think it creates files that Nuendo can read and imported everything. All the automation, etc..
OH YEAH. DID YOU SEE THAT THEY ADVERTISE THAT THEY WILL CONVERT A SESSION BEFORE YOU BUY TO SHOW YOU HOW IT WORKS? Those guys are really nice to deal with.
Thanks for the feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
I think they are from the Old Fairlight crowd.
The only thing we have in common is that we are both from Australia.
A bit of trivia - Fairlight is a suburb on the northern beaches of Sydney which is where they originated. We, on the other hand, are out at the base of the Blue Mountains.
BTW I have met them and they too are really nice guys ;-)

Back to business - our PT to Nuendo conversion is even better than it was years ago
__________________
AATranslator
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
move session from Nuendo to PT TDM ?? Nad4 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-08-2007 09:13 PM
move session from Nuendo to PT TDM ?? Nad4 Post - Surround - Video 1 12-08-2007 09:59 AM
nuendo session to pro tools wbmwgerry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-15-2006 04:45 PM
Transfering a nuendo session to pro tools krop015 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-13-2004 01:39 PM
My Buddy Has Nuendo How Do I Send Him A PT's Session Bloux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-13-2002 01:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com