Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Old 08-29-2008, 08:37 AM

Default MIDI Noob... Playing virtual instruments simultaneously?

Hey gang...

I want to demo some songs with the band in my project studio. I have a DD65 drum controller (MIDI in and out), and a Roland A-37 (MIDI In, Out A, Out B, and Thru). I have a Midiman MIDI to USB interface, which works beautifully with both controllers.

I want to use them simultaneously, the DD65 to trigger EZ Drummer, and the A-37 to control the Bosendorfer 290. I have the instrument tracks set up, and receiving MIDI signal and producing audio, but I can only get them to trigger simultaneously or not at all. I'm BRAND NEW to MIDI, so I know I'm the issue here :). How do I set up my gear to chain correctly into my machine, and set up my channels so that one is triggered by the DD65, and the other is triggered by the A-37?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
-Liam
Old 08-29-2008, 08:53 AM

Default Re: MIDI Noob... Playing virtual instruments simultaneously?

So, it turns out that on a cryptic page in the back of my owner's manual for the DD65, it says that the default MIDI output channel for the device is channel 10. A brief read through of other issues on the DUC gave me an idea where to find MIDI channel assignments in PTLE, and a little trial and error has me up and running - A-37 on Channel 1, DD65 on Channel 10. And all's right with the world.

And even though I helped myself this time around, you guys are STILL the best.

-L
Old 08-29-2008, 08:54 AM

As I understand your question: