Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2004, 02:46 PM
JAL JAL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Orlando
Posts: 17
Default latency when monitoring the output of my MBox

heres the deal.
if I monitor thru my headphones in my booth thru the input side of my mbox there is no latency, but if I monitor the playback from my mbox there is an annoying delay to my headphones, this delay does not feed my speakers in the control room just my cans in the booth.
signal flow: mic goes into ch. 1 of a console. ch 1 routes to buss 1. buss 1 routes to ( for some reason to mic 2 on the mbox, dont ask me why- i didnt wire the room). mic 2 feeds input 2 in PT output 1-2 to ch's 3/4 on the console. the headphones are being sent from the aux's on ch. 3/4 for playback purposes of course.
PT. is set up with an aux for processing (comp/eq) then out to an audio track.
AGAIN, with the room set up this way, there is no latency if I only monitor the input on the mbox going to the phones, but to monitor the playback (for punch-ins) there is a Delay...
CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME????
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2004, 03:53 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: latency when monitoring the output of my MBox

That's the way the Mbox works, didn't you read the manual? Use the input/playback knob (and the mono button if you like) to adjust your mix when tracking. For further explination, read the manual.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2004, 04:07 PM
JAL JAL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Orlando
Posts: 17
Default Re: latency when monitoring the output of my MBox

slim. IF I HAD THE MANUAL I WOULDNT BE POSTING THIS ISSUE.
I am doing freelance work at a studio and the owner (WHO BOUGHT THE MBOX)
unfortunatly LOST the MANUAL.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2004, 06:55 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: latency when monitoring the output of my MBox

Bummer, although all the manuals are included in PDF format when you install. Go to your digidesign folder, there's a folder called Documentation that has all the manuals in it (and you can search them!).

All PTLE host systems have recording latency - the Mbox works around this by using the input/playback knob. When tracking, turn the knob towards 'input' and you can monitor the signal before it hits the A/D converters. Unfortunately you have no options for reverb or anything, but that's the only way to do it if you don't have an external console to do your monitoring with.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2004, 08:03 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: latency when monitoring the output of my MBox

You can also search the AnswerBase for MBox and Latency for instructions on how to record with the MBox.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2004, 01:32 PM
Kevin O'Donnell Kevin O'Donnell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: latency when monitoring the output of my MBox

Even when I turn the knob all the way to just try and monitor what's recorded, I still get the signal of my guitar I'm trying to overdub. Anyway to rectify this? Is there a setting in the porgram I should fix?

thanks
kevin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2004, 01:43 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: latency when monitoring the output of my MBox

So you have the record armed track muted, and the Mix knob all the way to playback... and you still hear the guitar? Create a Master fader for output 1&2 and see if you have meter movement - if you do, then check for any Aux Tracks assigned to the same input and mute those.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Latency Monitoring Mutes Output-Why? toddamo Pro Tools 11 3 11-15-2013 09:41 PM
Mbox 3 Low Latency Monitoring charlesd81 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 02-25-2012 05:24 PM
Low latency monitoring on new Mbox? fadein 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-26-2011 11:22 AM
PT9 Mbox Pro 3 Low Latency Monitoring Bug Glitch Magnet Windows 9 07-20-2011 05:47 PM
low latency monitoring to any output? landros 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-20-2007 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com