Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2011, 06:40 AM
MikeLip MikeLip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 639
Default 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Is it possible to playback at 32 samples buffer with an Avid/Digi 192 I/O? (Windows Pro Tools 9)

*Edit: Yes, confirmed by filosofem. I thought I had a cpu memory controller problem, but no. Maybe my SSD. I'll try another C: soonish.

I received Native a few weeks back, but only recently tried the 32 Samples option. 64 Samples works great and I can push it very hard before I hit -9092 errors. But on 32 samples despite trying many things I can't get Pro Tools to even throw a 9x error. Everytime I hit play at 32 samples regardless of my configuration I receive the error:

"Problem detected with audio clock. Check your clock source and sample rate are correct".

To test, I create a new blank session (I've tried 44.1/48, WAV/AIFF, 16/24). Dont add any tracks. Set Playback Buffer to 32. Hit Play. Get the error above immediately.

I've tried every option I can think of in my BIOS - from safe settings to extreme performance. I've tried running my ram at 1066 using default timings, tried running at 1600 with default timings, slightly tweaked timings, and timings pulled from OCZ's forums. I also tried running with Corsair 1333 memory at 1066 and 1333. I've tried o/c'ing my CPU (up to 3.36GHz); and tried o/c'ing my CPU and Memory together. Tried dual channel and triple channel setups.

At 64 Samples, everything is stable as expected. I can run 64 Samples even with my ram set at slow speed (1066). Running in my standard config at 64 Samples I can get ~105 DVerbs.

The issue isn't a showstopper as 64 Samples is wonderfully adequate at 48k for my needs. But 32 would be a nice if its supported on the Avid hw on Windows.
Thanks very much,
Mike.

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : GigaByte X58A-UD3R

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 930 @ 2.80GHz
Speed : 2.8GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 Cache : 8MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 16 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : GigaByte X58A-UD3R
BIOS : Award (OEM) FG 04/29/2011
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte X58 I/O Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3
Channels : 3
Memory Bus Speed : 400MHz

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3P1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3P1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3P1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GT 240 (64 SM4.1 1.34GHz, 512MB DDR2 3.59GHz 128-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GT 240 (64 SM4.1 1.34GHz, 512MB DDR2 3.59GHz 128-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 240 (96SP 12C 1.34GHz, 448MB DDR2 3.59GHz 128-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 240 (64SP 1.34GHz, 512MB DDR2 3.59GHz 128-bit)
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 240 (96SP 12C 1.34GHz, 448MB DDR2 3.59GHz 128-bit)

Storage Devices
OCZ-VERTEX (64GB, SATA300, SSD, 32MB Cache) : 60GB (C:)
WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (F:)
Generic USB SD Reader (USB) : N/A (J:)
Generic USB CF Reader (USB) : N/A (K:)
Generic USB xD/SM Reader (USB) : N/A (L:)
Generic USB MS Reader (USB) : N/A (M:)
MATSITADVD-RAM UJ875AS (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
Pro Tools (F:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
ProToolsC (C:) : 60GB (NTFS) @ OCZ-VERTEX (64GB, SATA300, SSD, 32MB Cache)
Removable Drive (J:) : N/A @ Generic USB SD Reader (USB)
Removable Drive (K:) : N/A @ Generic USB CF Reader (USB)
Removable Drive (L:) : N/A @ Generic USB xD/SM Reader (USB)
Removable Drive (M:) : N/A @ Generic USB MS Reader (USB)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ MATSITADVD-RAM UJ875AS (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Giga-Byte LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T0 87-20
Audio Device : MSI High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Dh
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Dh
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Dh
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 88SE9128 SATA-600 Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #1
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Network Services

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 6.8
__________________
This might qualify for "the best worded, but most idiotic thing I've ever heard said" award.-ejwells

Avid Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.3. Win7x64Sp1. i7-930 X58A-UD3R. Acronis backup. Black Viper optimized.
Google the DUC
Search Avid

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2011, 12:48 PM
Greg M Greg M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Alpena, MI
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Yes, I can run smaller sessions at buffer of 32. Here is my Sandra Report. It looks a lot like yours.

Greg

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : Audio_i7
User : Greg

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
Speed : 3GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 8MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 8 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
BIOS : Award (Phoenix) F5 03/11/2010
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 12GB DIMM DDR3
Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte X58 I/O Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.7GHz (5.4GHz)

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.7GHz (5.4GHz)

Total Memory : 12GB DIMM DDR3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 600MHz (1.2GHz)
Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)

Video System
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 4650 (320 SM4.1 600MHz, 512MB DDR3 2x400MHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 4650 ()

Storage Devices
WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache) : 466GB (E:)
WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache) : 466GB (C:) (D:)
ATAPI iHAS424 Y (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (F:)

Logical Storage Devices
Session1 (E:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache)
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
System (C:) : 98GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache)
Data1 (D:) : 368GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache)
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ ATAPI iHAS424 Y (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Giga-Byte LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8720F
Audio Device : Giga-Byte HD Audio Controller
Audio Device : Visiontek RV730XT Audio device [Radeon HD 4670]
Audio Codec : ATI (AMD) AA01h
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Giga-Byte TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/link-layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Wireless Adapter 1 : Linksys AE1000 #3 (802.11g (ERP), AES-CCMP, 144Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64
Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.0

Here is some actual data for my setup:


Northbridge Intel X58 rev. 13
Southbridge Intel 82801JR (ICH10R) rev. 00
Graphic Interface PCI-Express
PCI-E Link Width x16
PCI-E Max Link Width x16
Memory Type DDR3
Memory Size 12288 MBytes
Channels Triple
Memory Frequency 600.0 MHz (2:8)
CAS# latency (CL) 8.0
RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) 8
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 8
Cycle Time (tRAS) 19
Row Refresh Cycle Time (tRFC) 68
Command Rate (CR) 1T
Uncore Frequency 2999.9 MHz

Hardware monitor ITE IT87
Voltage 0 1.31 Volts [0x52] (CPU VCORE)
Voltage 1 1.62 Volts [0x65] (VIN1)
Voltage 2 3.36 Volts [0xD2] (+3.3V)
Voltage 3 4.95 Volts [0xB8] (+5V)
Voltage 4 3.20 Volts [0x32] (+12V)
Voltage 5 -12.48 Volts [0xC3] (-12V)
Voltage 6 -1.73 Volts [0x1B] (-5V)
Voltage 7 3.60 Volts [0x86] (+5V VCCH)
Voltage 8 3.26 Volts [0xCC] (VBAT)
Temperature 0 40°C (104°F) [0x28] (TMPIN0)
Temperature 1 38°C (100°F) [0x26] (TMPIN1)
Temperature 2 49°C (120°F) [0x31] (TMPIN2)
Fan 0 1663 RPM [0x196] (FANIN0)
Fan 1 1276 RPM [0x211] (FANIN1)
Fan 2 921 RPM [0x2DD] (FANIN2)
Fan 3 1127 RPM [0x257] (FANIN3)
__________________
Intel i7 3930K, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 (rev 1.0), 32 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidea GT 720 TI video card, a Samsung 850 Pro (256 GB) OS drive, 2 Samsung 850 Pro's (512 GB) in externally mounted drive bays for session and sample storage, Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate (Native)2019.10, HD Omni, HD I/O 16x16 .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2011, 07:34 PM
MikeLip MikeLip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 639
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Thanks very much, Greg.

I'm thinking something not right with my mem bus (400Mhz?).

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3
Channels : 3
Memory Bus Speed : 400MHz

CPU-z shows my ram running at 800Mhz, but Sandra above reporting "400Mhz" - I would have expected 2x800Mhz or something similar. I can push about 25GB/s benchmarking my ram so it seems to be running correctly, but the Sandra report has me worried.

Mike.
__________________
This might qualify for "the best worded, but most idiotic thing I've ever heard said" award.-ejwells

Avid Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.3. Win7x64Sp1. i7-930 X58A-UD3R. Acronis backup. Black Viper optimized.
Google the DUC
Search Avid

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2011, 08:02 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Mike, try running the test using PC Wizard. Also Greg is running Rev.1 X58A board his BIOS revision is F5. I also noticed you are running the beta FG1 revision, although it most likely will not make any difference perhaps roll it back to FF. Where is your HD Native core card seated? Is it not in PCIe x16 slot two? Furthermore, for others that might read this, Digidesign legacy blue I/O interfaces can run at a H/W Buffer of 32 Samples.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2011, 08:10 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLip View Post
OCZ-VERTEX (64GB, SATA300, SSD, 32MB Cache) : 60GB (C:)
SSD's are currently not recommended by Avid for system nor recording drives for Pro Tools.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2011, 10:11 PM
MikeLip MikeLip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 639
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Yeah thanks again Aaron. I did just update my BIOS so I'll definitely try downgrading.

And thanks for the tip on the C: - I may try that, though right now I've put Pro Tools aside and just focusing on the memory results in Sandra/PCWiz/cpuz.

I run PCWizard, but actually dont see the current running ram speed in the results. It does show the SPD values though.

Something certainly doesn't seem right. In Sandra on the mainboard page (Logical/Chipset Memory Banks), when running at 1600 I see this:
Memory Bus Speed : 400MHz
Maximum Memory Speed : 2GHz

Or at 1066 this:
Memory Bus Speed : 400MHz
Maximum Memory Speed : 533MHz

Sandra reports the ram is running the custom timings correctly, but that 400Mhz... shrug.

CPU-z shows 800Mhz and 533Mhz on the mem tab, and BIOS shows it running at 1600 or 1066. So I'm stumped why Sandra reports 400 and can only think the ram is running at the correct frequency (reported by bios/cpuz) but the bus is stuck somehow at 400. BIOS downgrade imminent...

Well I've learnt a lot about X58 architecture. No FSB eh, who knew ;-)

Update: No matter how hard I try Sandra shows the 400Mhz memory bus. Running FF BIOS now. I found an old Sandra for my rig running @1333 that states 'Memory Bus Speed : 2x 675MHz (1.35GHz)' which is perfect. That was on BIOS version FB. Presently my Intel cpu memory controller seems to have gone to sleep. Still digging.

Cheers,
Mike.
Edit: Yup, video is in pciex16/1 and Native in pciex16/2
__________________
This might qualify for "the best worded, but most idiotic thing I've ever heard said" award.-ejwells

Avid Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.3. Win7x64Sp1. i7-930 X58A-UD3R. Acronis backup. Black Viper optimized.
Google the DUC
Search Avid

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-08-2011, 12:24 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

I've pinged Mykhal C so hopefully he will chime in, if he has the time, unless of course you solve this yourself Mike before hand.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-09-2011, 08:02 AM
MikeLip MikeLip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 639
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

I believe my Memory Bus Speed (IMC) problem is bogus and Sandra v1772 is incorrectly reporting the X58 IMC speed.

I found Sandra v2011.1.17.15 on the net. It shows my IMC thus:
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 532MHz (1GHz)

I ran Sandra v2011.8.17.72 immediately after and sure enough:
Memory Bus Speed : 400MHz

I'd be interested to know if someone else can reproduce the 400Mhz bus speed reporting issue using the latest version of Sandra. I created a ticket on Sandra's site.

Time to wipe my brow and put the pc back together again on my mission for 32 samples :)

Thanks guys for the help.
Mike.

Sandra v1715:
Logical/Chipset Memory Banks
Bank 0 : 2GB DIMM DDR3 7-7-7-19 4-26-9-5 1T
Bank 3 : 2GB DIMM DDR3 7-7-7-19 4-26-9-5 1T
Bank 6 : 2GB DIMM DDR3 7-7-7-19 4-26-9-5 1T
Maximum Installable Memory : 48GB
Supported Memory Types : DIMM DDR3 Scrubbing
Channels : 3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 532MHz (1GHz)
Maximum Memory Speed : 2x 533MHz (1GHz)
Multiplier : 4x
Width : 64-bit
Integrated in Processor : Yes
Maximum Memory Bus Bandwidth : 25GB/s

Sandra 1772:
Logical/Chipset Memory Banks
Bank 0 : 2GB DIMM DDR3 7-7-7-19 4-26-9-5 1T
Bank 3 : 2GB DIMM DDR3 7-7-7-19 4-26-9-5 1T
Bank 6 : 2GB DIMM DDR3 7-7-7-19 4-26-9-5 1T
Maximum Installable Memory : 48GB
Supported Memory Types : DIMM DDR3 Scrubbing
Channels : 3
Memory Bus Speed : 400MHz
Maximum Memory Speed : 533MHz
Multiplier : 4x
Width : 64-bit
Integrated in Processor : Yes
Maximum Memory Bus Bandwidth : 9.38GB/s

Sandra v1715 still displays this on the mainboard page. I think this should say the DIMM is working at 533Mhz (or 2x533 if DDR is so represented on the bank frequency):
Computer Memory Controller
Location : Mainboard
Error Correction Capability : None
Number of Memory Slots : 6
Maximum Installable Memory : 48GB
Bank0/1 - A0 : DIMM 2GB/2304 @ 400MHz
Bank2/3 - A1 : Empty
Bank4/5 - A2 : DIMM 2GB/2304 @ 400MHz
Bank6/7 - A3 : Empty
Bank8/9 - A4 : DIMM 2GB/2304 @ 400MHz
Bank10/11 - A5 : Empty
__________________
This might qualify for "the best worded, but most idiotic thing I've ever heard said" award.-ejwells

Avid Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.3. Win7x64Sp1. i7-930 X58A-UD3R. Acronis backup. Black Viper optimized.
Google the DUC
Search Avid

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-09-2011, 08:20 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Mike, screen capture with Sandra 17.72.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-09-2011, 10:45 PM
MikeLip MikeLip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 639
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Thanks again! Yup yours is incorrect also. That is very reassuring for me.
Cheers,
Mike.

Edit: Put my pc back together. After much tinkering I got it to play at 32 samples - once. :-O Only once though, but yup the "Problem detected with audio clock. Check your clock source and sample rate are correct" didn't throw and it played away. At the time I was o/c'ed to 3.36/1600 ram, but interestingly I had DAE Playback Buffer Size = 0. The SSD may indeed be an issue. I can dverb till the cows come home @64 samples on 2.8GHz/1066. I cloned C: to a spare WD green with Acronis, but that didnt get 32 samples - when I have time and a better C: available I'll have another try.
__________________
This might qualify for "the best worded, but most idiotic thing I've ever heard said" award.-ejwells

Avid Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.3. Win7x64Sp1. i7-930 X58A-UD3R. Acronis backup. Black Viper optimized.
Google the DUC
Search Avid

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HW buffer size 64 samples..?.. Codo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-01-2011 03:58 PM
can't change h/w buffer size above 128 samples mmiller Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 07-24-2010 10:42 AM
I Want H/W Buffer Size of 2048 samples on 002R jbaby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-05-2008 03:44 PM
HELP....H/W Buffer Size @ 128 Samples or less DOENS'T WORK AT ALL rogerhavoc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 12-31-2002 05:17 PM
My whole system crash when i set my H/W Buffer Size @ 128 Samples or less rogerhavoc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-29-2002 02:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com