Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2001, 10:14 PM
studioboy studioboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 64
Default Session Transfer Help (long post)

Hi. I posted this on another forum and got a variety of answers... hoping to get some ideas from you guys!
I'm tracking a record right now using my Digi001 and PTLE 5.1.1 (I have a motu 2408 also)
The sessions will ultimately end up on a Mix Plus system for mixing.
Here's the question:
I know I only have 24 tracks to work with in PTLE, and I need to have more than that for various vocals, guitar parts, percussion, etc. What software could I use that would be easiest to track in after I exceed 24 in PT and then ultimately transfer back to PT? (the ultimate reason is to have more tracks)
I need something easy to transfer my existing PT sessions into, track using this new software, then transfer this data in a format that the mixer can easily open in PT Mix Plus.
I've heard Logic is a good system, I've used Digital Performer also. I'm prepared to buy whatever I need to buy, I just need help from someone who's done this.

Example: Track up until I get 24 tracks in PTLE, save session and files as certain format, import session into Logic, DP,insert viable candidate here, track rest of tracks, then save in a format that can be opened in a PT Mix Plus.

Some have suggested just to delete files out of tracks and retrack in the same spot, saving as different filenames. How can I ultimately get more than 24 tracks in LE?
Can I just make a stereo mix of the song, create a new song, import that mix, and continue tracking? Then merge audio files from both sessions and the MIX PLUS engineer can open it and import tracks? How do I make sure everything is going to be lined up properly?
Thanks! Let me know asap.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-26-2001, 10:26 PM
surchur surchur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Riverside Calif
Posts: 561
Default Re: Session Transfer Help (long post)

Logic is a good choice is what I've been told I'm going to be doing similar things. Also I'm sure that yes you could mix down to stereo then open up another session and import that stereo mix. set up the tempo grid the same. anyway in the mixplus system they will be able to pull the tracks in from both the sessions I'm not sure of the details.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2001, 10:55 PM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Re: Session Transfer Help (long post)

Bounce your first 24 tracks to a stereo pair, import it, and put at the *end* of your session, now use the other 22 tracks below it for your overdubs. Make sure your overdubs start in exact alignment with the stereo file for future use.

Since you're not mixing in this session, there shouldn't be any automation or plugins to interfere with the overdubbed tracks, even though they're sharing physical space. All your files will be in one audio folder ready to go.

If you need 22 more tracks - do it again.

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2001, 11:20 PM
Marso Marso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 2060 de la Montagne
Posts: 56
Default Re: Session Transfer Help (long post)

Rename your session and "save as".
Record directly on 2 new tracks your ruff mix (or a drum mix and an instrument mix on 2 more). Delete the other tracks (you can, you're working on a copy of your original session) and keep on working. If you bounce instead, have your start time carefully marked.(Otherwise, you can always use the "original time stamp" and spot features to place your bnce to it's original location)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2001, 01:19 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: Session Transfer Help (long post)

There's another way that is in the same vein as the suggestions already posted but it may be a little easier and possibly more convenient depending on your workflow...

If you take advantage of the "playlists" feature you can keep all of your tracks in the same session even after you go beyond 24 audio tracks.

For example, Let's say you use 10 tracks for drums, two for bass, four for guitar, four for keyboards, four for horns, you're now at 24 and you still need to add percussion, vocals, sax solo or whatever.

You'll need to bounce something, my first suggestion would be to bounce the drums down to a stereo rough mix. Import these two files back into the session.

Here's the playlist part, on each drum track click on the small triangle to the right of the track name in the Edit window and choose "New". Name this new playlist whatever you want, i.e. "Sax solo" or "drumrufmix.L" or whatever. This track will be cleared (not actually cleared but hidden) of all drum audio but can easily be restored by clicking on the same triangle again and choosing the name of the track that was there before. It's like stacking up tracks one behind the other and you can add many playlists to each track as you want there's not a limit that I know of (but there could be, I've never hit it though).

Create two new playlists on two other drum tracks and put the rough stereo mix down there.

When you eventually want to go to the Mix system for mixdown you can open this session with all of it's playlists and all of your tracks will be there. You will need to create additional tracks in the Mix system session and put the hidden playlists on them but this is easy and takes no time.

Hope this helps,

Jon Connolly
Digidesign Product Specialist
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2001, 10:28 AM
Nine Spine Nine Spine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 468
Default Re: Session Transfer Help (long post)

This is exactly what I've been doing for a long time and it works just like a charm. All of the audio tracks are all in the same session without having to transfer/convert anything. I would like to specify one thing though. It is very important when doing this to keep your region bin organized. Things I would do are as follows:

1.) Rename the regions if necessary so that you don't have 100 Regions named "Audio_01" etc. That way if you need to get to something later, it's clear what is what.
2.) The other thing I would recommend is that if you have a track with a lot of edits and regions, it is sometimes best to highlight all of the regions and "consolodate" (under the edit menu, I think?) them into one bigger region. If you end up having to import them later it will be a lot easier. I had to do this once and we never figured out what was wrong, but it would have been a lot easier to do it had I done what I specified above. Especially for vocals or anything with a lot of takes but only one keeper, etc.

This is a little extra work but it has been worth it for me the few times I have had to use it.

Happy holidays everyone!
__________________
I.B.S. Studios
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2001, 03:58 PM
IOP Drummer IOP Drummer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 570
Default Re: Session Transfer Help (long post)

I tried using multiple playlists but found it tedious always changing around plugins, panning and volume for whatever playlist I needed to hear. For example, you might make a new playlist on your kick drum track for your 'drum submix L'. Now you have to pan left and reset the level. Then you use the snare for the 'drum submix R' and now that channel's panned right, and the level set to match the left channel. Now you have to group, etc. Then on your toms (which might've been gated or whatever) you make new playlists for vocals and have to bypass everything, maybe they sent to a reverb also so you have to mute that. What if you need another verb for the vocals or a delay but don't have enough dsp? Now all of a sudden it takes a good 5 minutes to "reconfigure" all of your original settings. Now you're deep into the "what's muted, what's bypassed? What playlist needed this send/plugin?" I found that bouncing a submix of the drums and then saving your original session as a new session works a lot better for me. Most of the time, I'll make a music mix, then track vocals on that in a new session with 22 tracks and the whole cpu for vocals. If any issues come up where the music needs to be remixed, i'll go back to the earlier sessions and do so. In the end I'll have a vocal/mastering session. I'll have a stereo mix of the music, (which is usually coming from 16 -20 tracks) and upto 8 tracks of vocals. So, my final session is only like 6-10 tracks or so. Then you can get into the automation and run all vox through a sub with plugs on it. Now you'll have plenty of dsp for plugins, like verbs and delays, and also alternate plugs (to automate mutes to, etc.) I just think this works better and quicker for me. At the end, you can always go to your original with all the tracks (and if track the 24 track limit permits) you can import your vocal playlists into it and mix everything from scratch. ****Anyway, I would like to add that if I had a mix system, go the playlist way. You can make tons of audio tracks and just use voices to choose your playlists. That way each track can have it's own plugins/sends, level and panning and you'll never have to change it, but yet you'll have ALL of your tracks in the same session the whole time.
__________________
Mike Blanchard
Engineer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer of ownership Digi 003 How long? RegenerationMix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-14-2011 07:47 PM
How long to transfer ownership?? tunetown Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 11-18-2009 02:40 PM
Pro Tools despair (long post) NathanLee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-09-2007 01:02 PM
Long time user, 1st post Greg Rogers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-11-2006 09:55 AM
Too long for comfort... problems with long session files Burton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-20-2001 06:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com