Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2018, 12:56 AM
thierryd thierryd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Brussels
Posts: 485
Default PT2018 and D-Control not showing sends names

Hi all,

Some background:
We've been following PT updates in all our studios (Eucon equipped with S3/Dock) except my D-Control room, that I kept on PT11.3.2 as it was speedier, more reliable video-sync wise with an older BM driver, generally more reliable than all PT 12 versions up till 12.7.1ish (with finally the BM 10.9.7 driver, which is still not as good as the PT11 combination on OS10.8.5 but ok-ish).

However exchanging sessions between PT11 and PT12 systems is not without its issues. The main one is that "blue mode" on the record stem tracks is always turned of when opening a PT 12 saved session on PT11.

From PT12.8.x (I only used PT12.8.3) onwards there were more changes under the hood and with the FB360 and Dolby Atmos integration it seems time to bring all our systems to the same version again for compatibility reasons.
This week I started doing further tests and brought all systems to OS10.12.6 (Mac Pro 5,1 computers) and PT2018.3 (just before 2018.4 came out). On the S3/Dock equipped studios the feeling was that it was an improvement over PT12.7.x
In the D-Control room I didn't like the QT picture chasing the sync with some jumping right after play (this is a BM10.9.7 "feature" I believe), but at least sync seems to be reliable.
The problem I'm running into on the D-Control: when I open sessions, my sends don't show the PT names on the D-Control (sRv1 for example) but only a, b, c, d, e. I first tested this on PT2018.4, but in the meantime checked on PT12.8.3, PT2018.3 and they all exhibit the same problem. After some experimenting sometimes the sends came back and I think the solution is: opening a pre PT12.8 session on post PT12.8 (although the turning point might be earlier than PT12.8) loses the send names on D-Control. Saving that session on post PT12.8, closing and re-opening brings the send names back. I'm not 100% sure yet, this is the solution, as I had to get some mix work done on lots of different episodes (that traveled between our systems) and was fighting with this problem trying to find a solution.
Anyone else has seen this issue?

Greetings,

Thierry
__________________
http://www.a-sound.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2018, 07:31 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: PT2018 and D-Control not showing sends names

Been scratching my head with this issue on 12.8.3 and D Command. Maybe we should let Eddie or someone at Avid know.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2018, 07:11 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,668
Default Re: PT2018 and D-Control not showing sends names

I am on D-Command ES, but it seems working as it should
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2018, 08:28 AM
thierryd thierryd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Brussels
Posts: 485
Default Re: PT2018 and D-Control not showing sends names

In the meantime I've done more tests with 2018.3 an2018.4 and it seems to be consistent. Opening pre 12.8 sessions lose the naming on D-Control, but saving the session, close and re-open brings send names back.
These sessions originated from templates from way back, so that could also be an extra reason (sometimes newer PT versions don't like parts of sessions from older PT versions).

Greetings,

Thierry
__________________
http://www.a-sound.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vst's showing patch names chazc080488 Virtual Instruments 4 08-25-2008 02:50 PM
Showing Sends and Pan scottleader ICON & C|24 2 08-21-2008 02:11 PM
Random names showing up on never-burned CD-Rs? ragbor Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-17-2005 10:52 AM
PTLE 6.01cs1: patch names not showing up cwhite771 MIDI 14 05-20-2003 06:01 PM
Can I have different sends showing for each track in the edit window? sevan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-08-2001 05:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com