Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2009, 01:58 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default Feature Request - Surround Pan Plotter

For mixing in surround, this would be a very nice shortcut & help us avoid the dreaded drawing & plotting on the various array of panning points.

This example would be for a mono track that is bussed to a 5.1 bus (but for that matter, would work for ANY routing - even stereo)

1) Make a selection
2) Call up the new feature - the "Pan Plotter". This would contain 2 panners. One would represent the panning position at the start of the selection, and the other the position at the end of the selection.
3) The user then sets the pan location for each position and presses an "Apply Pan" button. The points are then set at the beginning of the selection, and also the end.

In most cases, any panning nodes that exist within the selection would be erased when this is applied, so we have a smooth line going from the 1st point to the 2nd.

It would be nice if volume could be toggled to be ignored in the apply, if desired, or included.

Naturally, all the pan settings, like divergence, center, etc. should be written.

This would GREATLY speed up many of our current surround panning woes!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2009, 02:14 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default Re: Feature Request - Surround Pan Plotter

I should add, I can do this now, but it takes too many steps. I have to:

1) go to the start point, set my pan location, & write all
2) Go to the end point,, set my pan location, & write all
3) Select the nodes it creates in step 2 that are between my 2 desired points, and "Delete Panning Automation". (The easiest way to do this is, in step 2, to make select a selection over time, set the out point, then write all. This makes it easier to select the points I don't want, which would then be at the head of my selection.)

This works, but isn't nearly as clear cut & fast as the Pan Plotter would be, which should make sure there are no nodes created between the 2 desired pan points.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2009, 04:10 PM
Pirate Post Pirate Post is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Studio City, CA USA
Posts: 639
Default Re: Feature Request - Surround Pan Plotter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farmer Dave View Post
For mixing in surround, this would be a very nice shortcut & help us avoid the dreaded drawing & plotting on the various array of panning points.

This example would be for a mono track that is bussed to a 5.1 bus (but for that matter, would work for ANY routing - even stereo)

1) Make a selection
2) Call up the new feature - the "Pan Plotter". This would contain 2 panners. One would represent the panning position at the start of the selection, and the other the position at the end of the selection.
3) The user then sets the pan location for each position and presses an "Apply Pan" button. The points are then set at the beginning of the selection, and also the end.

In most cases, any panning nodes that exist within the selection would be erased when this is applied, so we have a smooth line going from the 1st point to the 2nd.

It would be nice if volume could be toggled to be ignored in the apply, if desired, or included.

Naturally, all the pan settings, like divergence, center, etc. should be written.

This would GREATLY speed up many of our current surround panning woes!
Perhaps you should call it "Glide".
__________________
Peter Cole - Head Pirate
http://www.beforenoonpost.com
http://www.piratepost.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2009, 06:09 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default Re: Feature Request - Surround Pan Plotter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Post View Post
Perhaps you should call it "Glide".
HA! You beat me to it. I've been looking into this some more today, and came across that. I wish I had tried that a long time ago! Amazing how we get into the rut & miss things right under our fingertips.

So - to my reason for posting - NEVERMIND!!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature Request: New Take On the Fly Brent Hahn Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-18-2011 03:30 PM
Feature request Carlos Juvandes Artist Series 1 11-26-2010 06:30 AM
Feature Request - Surround Mixer Plug-In Chief Technician Post - Surround - Video 1 01-09-2009 04:57 AM
PT 6.1 feature request Rob Macomber Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 51 05-03-2003 11:11 AM
Feature Request bassmac Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-02-2003 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com