Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 12-16-2015, 07:20 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: Video Issues with BM Intensity and PT 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by a1rflow View Post
A bit of a novice question here:

I understand that "gen-locking" your video output card (such as a Decklink Extreme) is considered the best way to make sure your system is in sync. The ref input for the Decklink would be received directly from the SYNC HD, which is being fed reference via a sync generator such as an AJA GEN 10. Correct?

So does this mean, for those who frequently switch between broadcast (59.94i/1080i 29.97DF) and HD episodic television (delivered to us as 1080psf, 23.98), that for each session in the session setup, the clock reference has to be set properly to Video Reference (SD) for broadcast, and Video Reference (HD) for episodic television? In order to be completely accurate and in sync?
  • The video card should be getting reference from a reference generator.
  • Same thing for the Sync HD.
  • So, video card and Sync HD are being fed the same ref.
  • Every time your video standards changes you need to have a generator that can match these settings.
  • Then, send the corresponding reference to your Sync HD and the video card.
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 12-17-2015, 06:28 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Video Issues with BM Intensity and PT 12

Quote:
FWIW Installing BM 10.5.2 on a W7 SP1 computer (has Intensity Pro 4K installed) here wiped out the Avid Application Manager 2.4.5
I'd have expected better cooperation between Avid and Blackmagic by now. Avid announced their partnership some time ago, but so far more dysfunction.
__________________
system specs in profile
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12-27-2015, 01:02 AM
mik mik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Paris
Posts: 330
Default Re: Video Issues with BM Intensity and PT 12

Hi,

I'm about to take the path to 12.4 and the new features seems very nice and also the plugs-in that come with the update.
But, as an intensity pro user, i'm very aware of that thread.
I guess, the best way should be to buy an Aja but, before having to do that, is there someone who found a special setup that is working ?

Mountain Lion, BM 10.4 and PT 12.4 ?

Since a few years now, all has always worked like a charm, even with my last set up : HDX, Protools 11.2.1, BM 10.2

Last edited by mik; 10-11-2016 at 01:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 12-30-2015, 03:29 PM
Matt82au Matt82au is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 298
Default Re: Video Issues with BM Intensity and PT 12

I seemed to be able to get a Intensity Shuttle to play ball. The main downfall with it seems to be if there is a mismatch in the settings of the control panel and in the Pro Tools video window. Where i run into trouble is having to down convert HD video, it is really finicky and can cause the "stop playing after 2 seconds" issue. If you have your video window up, as well as an external video monitor, you see them struggling to play in sync before it all goes to hell.

But if there is no conversion happening, it seemed to work as well as the T-Tap we have here.
__________________
Matt Perrott
Sound Designer and Engineer
Sydney, Australia
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 12-31-2015, 08:16 AM
mik mik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Paris
Posts: 330
Default Re: Video Issues with BM Intensity and PT 12

I've just tried a quick Pro tools 12.4 install.
And it seems after a little hour of work that everything is fine here. Of course i haven't extensively work with the set up, but no lag, no latency before going to play, and it appears even quicker than in Pro tools 11.2.1.

BM drivers here are 10.2.3 (well i guess they are not so new...but it works and i don't need anything else)
Mac OS : 10.8.5

Now i'll have to deal with the short cut bug (command-alt-/) but that's another problem
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 12-31-2015, 10:28 AM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Video Issues with BM Intensity and PT 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by mik View Post
Now i'll have to deal with the short cut bug (command-alt-/) but that's another problem
I have the solution for that check here - http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=369427&page=6
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 12-31-2015, 11:58 AM
mik mik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Paris
Posts: 330
Default Re: Video Issues with BM Intensity and PT 12

Thanks a lot Marco !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BlackMagic Intensity Pro installation issues richardcreedubbingmixer Pro Tools 11 1 10-08-2015 06:19 AM
No video out to Blackmagic intensity pro redsixmix Pro Tools 11 3 01-16-2014 11:02 AM
HD Video with Intensity Pro Fernand Bos macOS 1 03-10-2011 04:44 PM
Video out PCIe (Intensity), video is cropped, help please Dolly Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 02-19-2011 04:11 AM
BM Intensity Pro Downconvert Issues Johnny2Laps Post - Surround - Video 0 11-30-2010 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com