Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2013, 04:49 PM
yohi64 yohi64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default Input Question Mbox Pro

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum so I'm hoping this question doesn't seem too much of a newbie prob.

Anyway, I'd like to know if it's possible to run a mic into an outboard preamp and route it through any of the TRS inputs?

I'm trying to get past the 4 analog input limit if I can.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2013, 09:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,705
Default Re: Input Question Mbox Pro

This is not really going to get you to where you want. The 4 line inputs are the same as the 4 mic inputs(you choose mic or line for inputs 1 thru 4). So you can use external preamps, but they will go in via 1 thru 4(no gain in input preamps). You can get to 6 inputs by using a dual channel preamp with SPDIF(like the DBX-386, API A2D or ART Digital MPA). The final 2 inputs are on analog RCA at -10(designed for consumer electronics, not external preamps). If you want 8 mic preamps, I would look at Focusrite Pro40 or LS56.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2013, 06:49 AM
KineticSound KineticSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 40
Default Re: Input Question Mbox Pro

^ +1 on the above. I do the same thing as albee is describing... 4 mic's running into my Avid unit, then two mic's going into an A.R.T. DPS-II mic preamp which connects to the Avid via S/PDIF.

The S/PDIF inputs are automatically routed to channels 5/6 in the Avid control panel, so you can run 6 input channels simultaneously.

If you have an outboard mic preamp that you like, you can also look for a quality converter unit such as an M-Audio Flying Calf, which takes any TRS analog signal and converts to S/PDIF at 24-bit & 44.1/48k.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2013, 06:52 AM
yohi64 yohi64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Input Question Mbox Pro

Thanks to both responders.

I'll be looking for the hardware you've mentioned.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Mini Input Output Question stephnewbie macOS 4 11-29-2012 07:29 AM
Question about the Mbox pro 3's Aux input 5/6 jackroylee macOS 3 11-07-2012 07:14 AM
Question about the S/PDIF input on the MBox 2 jonathanvaas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-09-2006 11:31 PM
Mbox USB input question imnotwillie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-23-2004 02:51 PM
Mbox input help/question Esmeraldo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-19-2003 01:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com