Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2013, 03:42 AM
Fedenev Fedenev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Russia Moscow
Posts: 1
Default PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor

Does UltraStudio Mini Monitor (http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/ultrastudio/) work with PT10?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2013, 08:20 AM
a1rflow a1rflow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 16
Default Re: PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor

Interested in this too. My guess is no, since Pro Tools currently doesn't support video output out of thunderbolt. But I would hope that in PT11 support for thunderbolt is released.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2013, 10:08 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,774
Default Re: PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by a1rflow View Post
Interested in this too. My guess is no, since Pro Tools currently doesn't support video output out of thunderbolt. But I would hope that in PT11 support for thunderbolt is released.
Using a BlackMagic Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with my MacMini and PT LE 8 as Video Satellite system. Works without any issues.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.5
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2013, 05:25 PM
Audio_Vision Audio_Vision is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 318
Default Re: PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Using a BlackMagic Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with my MacMini and PT LE 8 as Video Satellite system. Works without any issues.
Makes sense in a way, as Thunderbolt is essentially a PCIe bus and displayport in one transport.
__________________

Digital Media Engineer
Discovery Communications
http://corporate.discovery.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2013, 08:39 AM
geitz geitz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 48
Default Re: PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Using a BlackMagic Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with my MacMini and PT LE 8 as Video Satellite system. Works without any issues.
Meads - do you use any kind of blackburst or tri-level sync? What generator do you use and how's it connected to your system?

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2013, 05:34 AM
markuse markuse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 44
Default Re: PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor

I just set up a mac mini server, PT10HD and the Blackmagic Mini Monitor via thunderbolt. It works.

Best,
Markus
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-22-2013, 02:39 PM
JohnO JohnO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 159
Default Re: PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor

On their website it says:

HTML Code:
 For audio get compatibility with ProTools, Steinberg Nuendo and Cubase.
So it should. Good find, the mini one must be new? SDI out too. Now if it only had a second Thunderbolt jack!
__________________
johnomix.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2013, 10:59 AM
mbauer1 mbauer1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 97
Default Re: PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor

A colleague had one he let me try out and it works great.

-Pro-Tools HD Native Thunderbolt Version 10.3.7.
-iMac 27" 3.4ghz Intel i7.
-OSX 10.9

Thunderbolt chain goes to 2 hard drives first then out to the Black magic Ultrastudio Mini Monitor.
So far so good. No glitches, no latency, no need to use the video offset.
It's worth noting it does not create an additional display for your computer to use for anything, so no desktop, no dragging plug-in windows to the other screen etc. It works with "VIDEO OUT PCIe" from the options menu so only displays your video window on specific supported software. I've not tried different video codecs and resolutions yet. I always convert my videos to Apple Intermediate Codec, an old habit which I can probably change but I'm running a 1920x1080 30fps video just fine.
Pro-Tools however is working very successfully for what I need. A pretty good solution for under $140. (Amazon)
__________________
Matt Bauer
www.bauer.net.au
E: matt@bauer.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-2013, 11:35 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,054
Default Re: PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor

This is almost the perfect device. I need a Thunderbolt interface with (6) AES/EBU outputs for surround mixing, and HDMI output for video monitoring. I think Decklink does this, but it's not Thunderbolt. And this box is Thunderbolt, but it doesn't have enough AES outputs. Grrr. Great price though.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-02-2014, 08:51 PM
danieldzula danieldzula is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2
Default Re: PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor

Just confirming that the Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor works amazingly well with Pro Tools, using the 'Video Out PCIe' function.

Even more incredible is that I'm using it on my Mac Mini (via thunderbolt). You can even select the Mini Monitor as the audio interface/output, which allows you to play/check your mix through the TV speakers. It appears to handle 16 channels of audio, but I have only tried stereo mixes through it so far…curious to see if it handles 5.1 audio via HDMI.

It's a brilliant little box and has allowed me to create a trim but very robust home mix and scoring setup...Still kind of can't believe I'm running PT HD with HD ProRes video, all out of a single Mac Mini. Everything in sync.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blackmagic Mini Monitor WORKING with Pro Tools 11 mattsamperi Pro Tools 11 0 11-12-2013 07:44 PM
Blackmagic UltraStudio SDI USB 3.0 Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 6 11-11-2013 01:59 PM
Blackmagic Ultrastudio 4k rack claimed to work with Pro Tools diamondschwin Post - Surround - Video 4 12-17-2012 02:46 PM
Where are the mini monitor outputs nealvb ICON & C|24 2 11-03-2006 12:37 AM
Good LCD Monitor for Mac Mini Hopeless and Reckless 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-17-2005 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com