Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2014, 04:10 AM
ErikGuldager ErikGuldager is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm, sweden
Posts: 114
Default Separate video cards or just use hdmi output?

So what do you all use?
In our old mac pros we have mostly used black magic cards. But with the nMP that requires a chassi. So unless we need chassi for other uses, is it worth it still to use a video card rather than just use hdmi output for video, especially when editing?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2014, 05:36 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Separate video cards or just use hdmi output?

How much do you value sync?
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2014, 11:16 AM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 467
Default Re: Separate video cards or just use hdmi output?

There are some Thunderbolt video output options from blackmagic and aja... both will play better than desktop video out the built in hdmi, and even better if they were video referenced.. What kind of audio interface are you using?
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative

HOBO Audio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2014, 11:04 PM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Separate video cards or just use hdmi output?

For a little more money than the Mini series, there's thunderbolt solution from both company that accept ref in. Blackmagic is much cheaper though, wonder about it's stability.

A sync gen. and a thunderbolt Blackmagic is not that expensive and will give you tight sync.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT Video out HDMI on Mac Mini / iMac BigBangPost Post - Surround - Video 14 06-25-2013 02:28 PM
Macbook Pro Retina 8 channels audio hdmi output reneo macOS 11 10-10-2012 10:34 PM
PT9 ASIO4ALL through HDMI output on laptop? ericewalton Windows 1 05-31-2012 09:18 PM
Using HDMI cards with Pro Tools Dode Post - Surround - Video 34 04-22-2010 02:32 AM
HDMI Video Output options ?? TommyT Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-14-2010 02:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com