Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:35 AM
shultzee13 shultzee13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 220
Default Converting from 24 bit to 16

I Have recorded a session in 24 bit but now that I am going out to a CD burner how do I convert to 16 bit like the manual says I should? Go to preferences? Has anyone stayed in 24 bit and gotten some weird popping sounds on their mastered recorded CD? I am coming out of the Firewire 410 channel 1 & 2 for a stereo mixdown.

Thanks guys.
__________________
Pro Tools 11.3.1 & 10.3.8
Interface - Focusrite Clarett Pre2/Clarett Octopre
Computer - Mac Mini 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 16GB
OS - Yosemite
Monitors - Yamaha HS8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2008, 11:29 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,637
Default Re: Converting from 24 bit to 16

Typically you would just bounce to disk and, in the BTD options, choose 16 bit for the output bit depth.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2008, 01:31 PM
shultzee13 shultzee13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 220
Default Re: Converting from 24 bit to 16

Then why would you ever want to record in 24 bit if it is going to end up in 16 bit on a CD? Just wondering.
__________________
Pro Tools 11.3.1 & 10.3.8
Interface - Focusrite Clarett Pre2/Clarett Octopre
Computer - Mac Mini 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 16GB
OS - Yosemite
Monitors - Yamaha HS8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2008, 02:02 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Converting from 24 bit to 16

Because of the headroom 24bit will give you when recording/mixing.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:33 PM
shultzee13 shultzee13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 220
Default Re: Converting from 24 bit to 16

But it will end up in 16 bit anyway right? On a CD.
Maybe I am missing something here.
__________________
Pro Tools 11.3.1 & 10.3.8
Interface - Focusrite Clarett Pre2/Clarett Octopre
Computer - Mac Mini 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 16GB
OS - Yosemite
Monitors - Yamaha HS8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2008, 06:43 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Converting from 24 bit to 16

Recordings at 16-bit resolution have a theoretical dynamic range of 98dB, whereas 24-bit have a dynamic range of 120 dB. The significance is that the greater your dynamic range is, the lower the noise floor is and the higher your maximums are.

That's a track-by-track, significant difference. So even if your target medium is 16-bit(CD) for your final two-track stereo mix, your overall audio is going to sound better if it is recorded at 24-bit.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2008, 05:38 AM
tash tash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 48
Default Re: Converting from 24 bit to 16

Maybe you need to put dither plug-in when you get 16 bit files from 24 bit ones? That could be the cause of funny noise.

It is sort of popular practice to record everything @24 bit 44.1k and lowered the resolution at the end.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting to MP3 keytone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 02-24-2009 06:54 PM
mp3 converting HELP?!?! steve.05251 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 01-28-2009 04:58 PM
Converting from pc to mac! i need some help mr razor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-16-2008 03:09 AM
Converting 24 bit to 16 mblack Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 04-02-2005 06:55 PM
converting from 48K with PT Grillo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-16-2000 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com