Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2011, 01:42 PM
Paul Maunder Paul Maunder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 182
Default Convert after bounce vs during

I have a question relating to exactly how these two options work. I have always chosen the Convert After Bounce option in the belief that, whilst it may take slightly longer than convert during bounce, it allows for more accurate automation. However, a colleague of mine suggested that Convert After Bounce temporarily writes the bounced files to RAM, until the bounce is finished, at which point it converts it and writes it to the hard disk. His suggestion was that this process may adversely affect automation accuracy on larger sessions, since it uses RAM which may otherwise be used for automation. Personally, I don't believe that pro tools uses RAM in this way when 'Convert After Bounce' is chosen. If I set a stereo session bouncing down to an interleaved file, I can see two temporary WAV files which appear on the destination hard disk on the mac. The size of each of these is exactly half of the final interleaved file size, which suggests to me that pro tools actually writes the temporary files to disk prior to conversion, and not to RAM.

Can anyone clear up this matter?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2011, 04:08 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: Convert after bounce vs during

Yes, the temp files are written to disk, not RAM.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2011, 06:03 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,660
Default Re: Convert after bounce vs during

I think your assumption is right, Paul. "Convert after" seems to require slightly fewer system resources during bounce. It was very helpful back when computers had about the same power as a first generation iPod. Not sure it makes any difference on a 2 GHz+ multi-core.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2020.3 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2020.3 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't convert after bounce Mac88s 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-13-2007 03:15 PM
mp3 bounce won't convert? Khatru 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-11-2007 09:20 PM
5.1 wont bounce. Says "bounce handler cant keep up try convert after bounce...." Trash Man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 05-21-2001 08:28 PM
Convert after bounce........??? ill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-16-2001 12:48 AM
bounce convert ? Karrot24 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-08-2001 04:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com