Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2008, 07:37 PM
Julien Vachon Julien Vachon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default Pro Tools M-Powered 8: Challenge / Response?

Hello,

I recently purchased Pro Tools 7.4 and I just upgraded to Pro Tools M-Powered 8 but when I try to boot it up, I get a prompt saying:

This version of Pro Tools M-Powered 8 requires authorization to run. To authorize your computer, please enter a response to the challenge bellow.

Then, the challenge is a bunch of random words that barely mean anything and I have absolutely no idea what I am supposed to do from there.

Could anyone help me?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2008, 08:39 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,669
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8: Challenge / Response?

M-Powered uses an ilok license for authorization.

Are you possibly holding a modifier key (command) while launching?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2008, 05:23 AM
Julien Vachon Julien Vachon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8: Challenge / Response?

Well, the iLok card I am using is for the version 7.4 I purchased; version 8 does not recognize it as valid and says I have to answer the said "outstanding challenge" in order to authorize my iLok.

Your iLok with serial number 0x0-------- has a pending authorization for this software. Most likely, this means that there is an outstanding challenge in the device for which a response has not been entered.

While the pending authorization exists, you may not transfer authorization from the license card to your iLok. Press "Next" to delete the pending authorization or "Cancel" to stop this operation.


What am-I supposed to do with this?
Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2008, 06:50 AM
BW DoggyDawg BW DoggyDawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany / Frankfurt area
Posts: 102
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8: Challenge / Response?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julien Vachon View Post
Well, the iLok card I am using is for the version 7.4 I purchased; version 8 does not recognize it as valid and says I have to answer the said "outstanding challenge" in order to authorize my iLok.
What make you think your Pro Tools M-Powered 7.4 licence can authorize Pro Tools M-Powered 8?
You definitly need a Pro Tools M-Powered 8 licence on your iLok.

BW
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2008, 03:25 PM
Julien Vachon Julien Vachon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8: Challenge / Response?

Yes, that's obvious!
But how do I get such a license?

I was told I was eligible to a free upgrade to M-Powered 8 because I purchased 7.4 the day before 8 was released... and now that I installed the upgrade, the program won't boot-up anymore because of the issue described above.

Can't anyone help me?

(I guess that's what I should have precised first; I really did purchase 7.4 the day before 8 was released... so I should get an authorization to use 8)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2008, 06:30 AM
contrabasc contrabasc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8: Challenge / Response?

You are not alone!

I know this doesn't help- but I am experiencing the same thing.
I was eligible for the upgrade and now that I have it I can't use it.

I get the same exact Ilok msg.

I tried contacting Digi support but their support screen email won't go through- it prompts me to create an account- which I already have.- but that's another story.

According to Digi- we are eligible for the free upgrade to PT8.
I am sure you received an email with the authorization and confirmation information.

If someone from DIGI could please assist that would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2008, 07:05 AM
2fly 2fly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 296
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8: Challenge / Response?

Hi,

If you log in to your account you should be able to find details of how to activate your PT8. Once you activate that there should be an iLok license for PT8 deposited at iLok.com which you then download to your own iLok and off you go.............hopefully!
__________________
Alan
http://www.2flystudios.com
G5 2.5ppc, 4gb ram, OSX 10.5.8, PT8.0.1cs4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2008, 07:26 AM
contrabasc contrabasc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8: Challenge / Response?

If you are referring to the MyDigi account- the downloads are there - but no methods or instructions on how to get the codes to Ilok so that I may download them.
I consider myself pretty sharp and I have scanned practically every inch of the site...I still can't figure it out.
Anyone have and M-powered upgrade success?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2008, 07:44 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,730
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8: Challenge / Response?

Does your MyDigi account have an 'activation code' for the Pro Tools M-Powered 8 upgrade? If so, go to the activation page and enter that activation code, then follow the prompts. Make sure to enter the iLok account name (the name you use when logging in to iLok.com) and not your iLok serial number or something, otherwise the authorization won't go to your account.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2008, 07:48 AM
contrabasc contrabasc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8: Challenge / Response?

OK- then I must have did something out of sequence or something.
When I enter the code in the activation box- it tells me that that code is aleady activated- which is what I oringally did to get the upgrade downloads.

Is there a way to retrigger the activation so that it will send the code to my Ilok account?- I think that may solve my problem as well as the original poster.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Challenge/Response GyphtBoy Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-06-2007 03:34 PM
Challenge/Response Structure Blackthorn Virtual Instruments 2 03-12-2007 09:35 PM
Challenge and Response!? GTBannah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 01-27-2007 06:28 PM
Challenge /Response 4times4mil 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-18-2006 08:43 PM
Confused about authorization challenge-response Robert U Tips & Tricks 3 09-25-2000 04:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com