Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #5031  
Old 01-03-2006, 11:47 AM
Michael Digi001 Michael Digi001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Hi, Allan.

I bougth a sytem for the Digi001 down here in Mexico based on your system configuration, back in 2003..February.

At the time couldnt get the PS you recomended, and the one I got its very noisy..

A friend ist in the States and could get me one, so wanted to check with you if can give me some advise on this.

Also wanted to know if its ok to get and usb optical mouse alambric or inalambric.

This is my configuration:

AMD Athlon 2100+ XP BOX CPU
Asus A7V333 MB
Samsung 512 MHZ DDR PC 2700 Ram
Samsung Spinpoint SV3063 30 GB IDE U/DMA 5400 RPM System Drive
Seagate Barracuda 80 GB IDE U/DMA 7200 RPM Audio Drive
ATI 7000 radeon Evil Wizard 64MB DDR AGP
FLOPPY DRIVE 1.44MB
CDRW LG 52x OEM
SOME CASE w¬/400W PS


Thanks,

Juan.
Reply With Quote
  #5032  
Old 01-04-2006, 05:36 AM
Michael Digi001 Michael Digi001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Hi, Allan.

I bougth a sytem for the Digi001 down here in Mexico based on your system configuration, back in 2003..February.

At the time couldnt get the PS you recomended, and the one I got its very noisy..

A friend ist in the States and could get me one, so wanted to check with you if can give me some advise on this.

Also wanted to know if its ok to get and usb optical mouse alambric or inalambric.

This is my configuration:

AMD Athlon 2100+ XP BOX CPU
Asus A7V333 MB
Samsung 512 MHZ DDR PC 2700 Ram
Samsung Spinpoint SV3063 30 GB IDE U/DMA 5400 RPM System Drive
Seagate Barracuda 80 GB IDE U/DMA 7200 RPM Audio Drive
ATI 7000 radeon Evil Wizard 64MB DDR AGP
FLOPPY DRIVE 1.44MB
CDRW LG 52x OEM
SOME CASE w¬/400W PS


Thanks,

Juan.
Reply With Quote
  #5033  
Old 01-04-2006, 05:45 AM
toastedjam toastedjam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Hello,I'm another newby to this site and the whole PTLE thing so I wondered if anyone would have a look at this set up and give me their views on it.Much appreciated ASUS A8N-E Nforce4 Ultra 4DDR
1GB DDR PC3200 400MHz (2x512MB)
80GB SATA150 7200RPM 8MB
Radeon X300 128M 64-bit PCI-E DVI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (2GHz) Dual Core
Reply With Quote
  #5034  
Old 01-06-2006, 05:35 PM
mac goD mac goD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: heaven
Posts: 67
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Quote:
Be interested to know your experience with the Seagate drives. My real job involves supporting about 400 PC's, and the Seagate's are definitely not as long lasting as the WD's.
By the time I ordered they were sold out. However, a buddy of mine purchased one recently and had to return the drive twice. I returned the 200gb maxtors and purchased two 250 gig drives for 30 bucks less. I have all the parts I need for the dual core system (I purchased the , but I want to make another system.

On the first page this is listed:

The Original Under $600.00 System (Digi Approved)

Enermax CS-3051L-B3A (Black)Aluminum Case with 350W PSU 55.00

Asus A7V600 Motherboard 59.99

AMD XP2500+ Barton FSB333 (Heatsink/Fan Included) 75.00

Micron 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM 70.00

ATI Radeon 9600 128Mb DDR 8x Dual Video Card 71.00

Western Digital 80GB SATA 7200RPM 8MB CACHE Hard Drive = 45.00

Lite On 52x32x52x Black Color CDRW Drive LTR-52327S 38.00

Total= $358.99


I cannot find that motherboard on newegg or pricewatch. So now I am back to a similar question I asked earlier. Should I go with socket 754 or 939 mobo? I do not want to run dual core on the second computer. This pc will not run pro tools 7.0, but I will install 6.1 or 6.7 on the machine.

Any other help is appreciate, thanks!!!

mac
__________________
answer me now
Reply With Quote
  #5035  
Old 01-06-2006, 05:35 PM
mac goD mac goD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: heaven
Posts: 67
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Quote:
Be interested to know your experience with the Seagate drives. My real job involves supporting about 400 PC's, and the Seagate's are definitely not as long lasting as the WD's.
By the time I ordered they were sold out. However, a buddy of mine purchased one recently and had to return the drive twice. I returned the 200gb maxtors and purchased two 250 gig drives for 30 bucks less. I have all the parts I need for the dual core system (I purchased the , but I want to make another system.

On the first page this is listed:

The Original Under $600.00 System (Digi Approved)

Enermax CS-3051L-B3A (Black)Aluminum Case with 350W PSU 55.00

Asus A7V600 Motherboard 59.99

AMD XP2500+ Barton FSB333 (Heatsink/Fan Included) 75.00

Micron 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM 70.00

ATI Radeon 9600 128Mb DDR 8x Dual Video Card 71.00

Western Digital 80GB SATA 7200RPM 8MB CACHE Hard Drive = 45.00

Lite On 52x32x52x Black Color CDRW Drive LTR-52327S 38.00

Total= $358.99


I cannot find that motherboard on newegg or pricewatch. So now I am back to a similar question I asked earlier. Should I go with socket 754 or 939 mobo? I do not want to run dual core on the second computer. This pc will not run pro tools 7.0, but I will install 6.1 or 6.7 on the machine.

Any other help is appreciate, thanks!!!

mac
__________________
answer me now
Reply With Quote
  #5036  
Old 01-08-2006, 02:51 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

I have 2 qusetions

I'm having a new computer built for my 002
Here's the parts I bought

ASUS A8N-E Mobo
AMD Athlon 64x2 4800
Win XP Pro/SP2
ATI Radeon X700 Pro
4 GB Corsair Ram
ADS Pyro PCI 64
Seagate SATA 120 GB Barracuda (OS)
2 Seagate SATA 300 GB Barracudas (Audio/BFD, Samples, Loops)
Plextor DVD +/- RW
Antec PI80 Case
Antec 500w Power Supply
Cooler Master heatsink/fan

I need to know the best way to use the 3rd hard drive.
(1)120-OS
(2)300-Audio
(3)300-Loops, Samples, BFD

The main reason I want the 3rd drive is for my exhaustive BFD/XFL/8 Bit Kit program, which is 40 some gigs.

In my current computer (Sweetwater Custom/3.4GB P4/ASUS P4C800-E Mobo/80GB OS/200GB Audio) a third HD (120 GB) was recently added (by Sweetwater) using the Promise RAID controller in a non-RAID way (I don't understand this), and I'm having nothing but troubles.
I had the 3rd drive installed at the same time I upgraded to PT 7.
Now I can't open at least HALF of my sessions which were created using PT 6.x.

Question 2:

In reading the manual for the A8N-E, in the memory config section, it says the Mobo "may not recognize 4 GB of RAM when four 1GB sticks are used.
The compato chart shows the RAM I bought (Corsair 2048x2/ 2 sets) as OK for 2 sticks, but not 4.
Yet there's a Kingston 1GB stick that shows OK for 4 sticks.
No big deal to swap the stuff I bought out for 4 Kingston sticks, but I'm rather baffled, as both are DDR400/PC3200.

Any help will be most appreciated.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #5037  
Old 01-08-2006, 05:13 PM
Abomb97 Abomb97 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 220
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

this thread is now getting rediculous. Allen, somebody ,anybody: pear it down, cut out 20 or so pages of the old usless stuff from a few years back. I cant get to the end of this thing without much effort.


THanks!!!

Justin
(getting ready to build a AMD X2 allenstein)
__________________
ProTools 2018
1 x Apollo Quad Firewire
1 x Apogee Duet 2 mac/ios

MacBook Pro (15-inch,2018)
2.9 Ghz Intel Core i9 CPU
32 GB 2400 DDR4 RAM
1TB SSD System Drive
Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #5038  
Old 01-09-2006, 12:16 PM
who who is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: joesville, Montana, USA
Posts: 751
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Two things:

1) It's easy to get to the end of this thread, so I don't understand why you find it so difficult.

2) Just because you don't find the old information useful, doesn't mean it's useless. Many of us on this forum have older Allensteins and refer to the old information now and then. I know I do.
Reply With Quote
  #5039  
Old 01-10-2006, 10:44 PM
Rob Sims Rob Sims is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Just click on 201 or 202, and you skip all the old stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #5040  
Old 01-11-2006, 11:46 PM
Abomb97 Abomb97 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 220
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

my bad
__________________
ProTools 2018
1 x Apollo Quad Firewire
1 x Apogee Duet 2 mac/ios

MacBook Pro (15-inch,2018)
2.9 Ghz Intel Core i9 CPU
32 GB 2400 DDR4 RAM
1TB SSD System Drive
Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools-qualified desktops outdated??? robotboy Windows 4 05-28-2013 05:02 PM
HP Desktops? whatwhat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-29-2009 09:33 AM
HP Desktops in LE?? finman29 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-06-2008 11:06 AM
Pro-Tools and RAM Drives. Laptops/Desktops - Possible? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-13-2008 09:34 PM
HP Desktops my cardboard box 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-05-2004 07:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com