Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2005, 10:03 PM
PDXsSoundGuy PDXsSoundGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4
Default Surround in LE?

Hey, folks. This may seem a silly question, but is 5.1 surround panning only available in TDM systems? (And if so, why?)

I know the temptation is to say, "If you want professional features, buy an HD system," but I work in higher ed. After shelling out for 25 M-Boxes, there's no way they'll OK a TDM system.

Are there software plug-ins available? Help!

Thanks much!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:46 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Surround in LE?

Sorry man, TDM only
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2005, 06:25 AM
Dazrae Dazrae is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: Surround in LE?

TDM only

BUT

if you know the right plugins and have some knowledge, you can *almost* create 5.1 soundscapes with only sterio speakers

*cough* wavearts panorama *cough*

enjoy

--Dazrae
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2005, 06:33 AM
who who is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: joesville, Montana, USA
Posts: 751
Default Re: Surround in LE?

Here's a link that might be helpful:

http://www.eqmag.com/story.asp?secti...storycode=4599
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:01 AM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: Surround in LE?

Quote:
Here's a link that might be helpful:

http://www.eqmag.com/story.asp?secti...storycode=4599
thats really good/cool to know , but my only thing is how do get it into a surround sound file type?

i'm guessing you would have to bounce each master fader to a seperate file, then you would need a program that can combine them all together, but which program?
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:14 AM
Ducky Ducky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 929
Default Re: Surround in LE?

You can do surround in LE... at least you can set up the required 6 channels.

I've resigned to requiring additional software to finalize surround mixes.

It was appearant that Sony had the best solutions for us hobbyists and I purchased Vegas+DVD.

So now I can do my surround panning/mixing and mastering in Vegas and seamlessly port to DVD software. Since Vegas (and several other Sony products) have surround built in and is ASIO compatable, you can still use your Digi hardware to interface with Sony.

I still do the raw editing and mixing in PTLE, but this limitation is a bit behind the times. If you only have MBox's, you're kinda stuck with stereo as far as the interface goes. I use the OO2 console with a Digimax LT and a Platinum Waves bundle & IR-1.

Maybe your school would spring for some additional software to 'enhance' their investment.
Sony is well known for audio quality, and even in Vegas, they have not implemented any shortcuts.
Plus... here is the clincher for the bean counters... you get video support; real video support

[please post a question in only on catagory ]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surround panning of surround tracks mik Post - Surround - Video 10 12-16-2010 09:08 PM
Ideal surround workflow with PT9 & 002 but no surround speakers? EricWillhelm Post - Surround - Video 5 11-16-2010 06:45 AM
SRS Circle Surround - Matrix Surround Troubles mrdale Post - Surround - Video 1 08-11-2006 02:12 PM
Surround sound other than Wave Surround? Kryst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 04-28-2006 06:31 AM
Anyone using Waves 360 Surround and/or Dolby Surround plug? Wheelieboy426 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-10-2002 02:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com