Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 05-11-2012, 05:11 PM
Seth Thomas Seth Thomas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 20
Default Re: Digi MIDI i/o Duplicated and greyed in Audio/Midi setup

There is a new MBoxPro3 Driver…. v10.21. Perhaps this will resolve out little Ghost problem, yes?
Best,
Seth
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 05-11-2012, 05:16 PM
Seth Thomas Seth Thomas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 20
Default Re: Digi MIDI i/o Duplicated and greyed in Audio/Midi setup

Dang! Sorry, the Driver is still .14. The .21 is for the MBox, not MBoxPro…
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 05-11-2012, 05:30 PM
bradp bradp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: worcester, ma usa
Posts: 103
Default Re: Digi MIDI i/o Duplicated and greyed in Audio/Midi setup

rats!!!
have you tried removing the gr55 driver or others in the same folder as the mbox driver?
check both root and home library folder
__________________
thanks, brad

Mac Pro:
PT 11.3.2 HD native, MIDI IO, 96IO
Mac Pro Desktop 4,1 osx 10.11.6., 8 Core 2.26GHz 2009 Intel Xeon MB535LL/A 16GB RAM 640GB HD ATI 4870
-----
MBP:
OS 10.11.6, MacBookPro 5,1, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz Memory: 8 GB Bus Speed:1.07 GHz, Boot ROM Version: MBP51.007E.B06, SMC Version (system):1.33f8
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 04-27-2013, 03:45 PM
@ndy's Avatar
@ndy @ndy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 368
Default Re: Digi MIDI i/o Duplicated and greyed in Audio/Midi setup

I have ditched my old Harpertown Mac Pro 3.1 and switched to a New Mac Mini. The Midi I/O is running flawlessly now. I understand now why Avid is leaving that model off the "supported" compatibility charts.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OS 10.8.4, 003R, PT10.3.4, Midi I/O and late 08 15" Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, OS 10.8.4, Mbox2, PT10.3.4
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 08-02-2013, 07:18 AM
joeman joeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Default Re: Digi MIDI i/o Duplicated and greyed in Audio/Midi setup

Hi @ndy and everyone else,

I have a slightly different issue and I'm wondering if anybody could help me.

I'm using a MacBookPro (mid 2012) running Mountain Lion 10.8.2.

I recently purchased a DigiDesign MIDI I/O second hand.

I do not own a copy of Pro Tools. I have managed to find the latest drivers and software for the MIDI I/O but the problem I have is that it appears I also need the Firmware Updater Application to update the firmware on the MIDI I/O.

Apparently this Firmware Updater Application comes bundled with Pro Tools install?? Unfortunately, I can't find it anywhere to download from the website.

Would anyone be able to please help me either find the firmware updater app or email me a copy of it?

At the moment, the drivers install fine on the computer but the MIDI I/O does not appear in AMS list at all.

@ndy, you say you're using the MIDI I/O on OSX Lion? I also have an iMac that is running Lion (10.7.5). If I can get the MIDI I/O running on either machine it would be great.

Thanks for your help/time

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 08-02-2013, 08:10 AM
joeman joeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Default Re: Digi MIDI i/o Duplicated and greyed in Audio/Midi setup

Hi this is Joe again,

I found the firmware updater app.

It turns out it was automatically deposited into a Pro Tools folder in the applications folder without my knowing. I searched the internet for 2 hours looking for a solution to this issue so I'm a bit annoyed that this was not documented.

Anyway, I'm happy that it is now all working properly, at least for now. (on Mountain Lion 10.8.2)

Cheers all!

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 08-02-2013, 08:42 AM
bradp bradp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: worcester, ma usa
Posts: 103
Default Re: Digi MIDI i/o Duplicated and greyed in Audio/Midi setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeman View Post
Hi this is Joe again,

I found the firmware updater app.

It turns out it was automatically deposited into a Pro Tools folder in the applications folder without my knowing. I searched the internet for 2 hours looking for a solution to this issue so I'm a bit annoyed that this was not documented.

Anyway, I'm happy that it is now all working properly, at least for now. (on Mountain Lion 10.8.2)

Cheers all!

Joe
hi joeman!
would you let me know if you ever get a midi IO ghost icon in the audio/midi setup app?

thanks!
__________________
thanks, brad

Mac Pro:
PT 11.3.2 HD native, MIDI IO, 96IO
Mac Pro Desktop 4,1 osx 10.11.6., 8 Core 2.26GHz 2009 Intel Xeon MB535LL/A 16GB RAM 640GB HD ATI 4870
-----
MBP:
OS 10.11.6, MacBookPro 5,1, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz Memory: 8 GB Bus Speed:1.07 GHz, Boot ROM Version: MBP51.007E.B06, SMC Version (system):1.33f8
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 08-02-2013, 09:01 AM
joeman joeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Default Re: Digi MIDI i/o Duplicated and greyed in Audio/Midi setup

Hi Brad,

If you go here:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nload/en379411

Then find Additional downloads, and then download the driver for mac or windows.

Install it. Then in your applications folder (if on mac) there'll be a folder called Digidesign/Pro Tools/MIDI IO/ and here you will find the firmware updating app.

I hope this helps!

I will let you know if I have any further issues re greyed out device or similar.

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 08-02-2013, 07:52 PM
@ndy's Avatar
@ndy @ndy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 368
Default Re: Digi MIDI i/o Duplicated and greyed in Audio/Midi setup

Hey Joe, glad you got it sorted. I'm running 10.8.4 and the Midi i/o is running perfectly. Brad, no greyed out duplicates. The problems with USB communication loss was limited to my Mac Pro 3.1, so it was Apple's fault all along. That model Mac Pro had all kinds of problems, especially heat issues.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OS 10.8.4, 003R, PT10.3.4, Midi I/O and late 08 15" Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, OS 10.8.4, Mbox2, PT10.3.4
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 08-02-2013, 08:40 PM
bradp bradp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: worcester, ma usa
Posts: 103
Default Re: Digi MIDI i/o Duplicated and greyed in Audio/Midi setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by @ndy View Post
Hey Joe, glad you got it sorted. I'm running 10.8.4 and the Midi i/o is running perfectly. Brad, no greyed out duplicates. The problems with USB communication loss was limited to my Mac Pro 3.1, so it was Apple's fault all along. That model Mac Pro had all kinds of problems, especially heat issues.
anyone running a Nehalem 4,1 mac pro? thats the one i have the midi IO issue with. the previous G5 i had also had the issue.
__________________
thanks, brad

Mac Pro:
PT 11.3.2 HD native, MIDI IO, 96IO
Mac Pro Desktop 4,1 osx 10.11.6., 8 Core 2.26GHz 2009 Intel Xeon MB535LL/A 16GB RAM 640GB HD ATI 4870
-----
MBP:
OS 10.11.6, MacBookPro 5,1, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz Memory: 8 GB Bus Speed:1.07 GHz, Boot ROM Version: MBP51.007E.B06, SMC Version (system):1.33f8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio MIDI setup says DIGI 002 midi device is offline oliarnalds MIDI 17 10-23-2016 10:13 PM
Remove a Greyed-Out Device in Midi Setup? Reesho 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-14-2016 12:58 PM
Midi IO not shown in AMS or is greyed out. When greyed out no MIDI options in Tools drewsmith Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-15-2011 06:21 PM
Midi Regions / Losing the first midi note when duplicated sad1robot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 02-10-2010 05:40 PM
Can't see the Digi in the Audio/Midi setup jpoprock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-01-2003 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com