Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 12-30-2013, 01:48 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,215
Default USB 2 Drives for Sample Libraries?

Why don't you post a Sandra report for exactly what you have now. I know it may be a budget issue, but specially if you have SATA-III controllers a SSD will be faster, than a HDD, especially for boot/system drives.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 12-30-2013, 03:04 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,020
Default Re: USB 2 Drives for Sample Libraries?

Darrel, I've looked into that, but for less than the price of just 1 SSD I can have all of the above. I'll probably go SSD when I get my next computer in a couple years.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-18-2014, 12:43 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,020
Default Re: USB 2 Drives for Sample Libraries?

Well, at long last, its done! I how have 4 drives...there was space for 4 after all. 2 new WD blacks 1tb each, the 750gig WD I already had, and I kept the old C drive eith 500 gig. Made one of the new WD's the OS drive, and use the old one now as my catch all. Where I download files to, that sort of thing. PT audio files, Reason set ups and Reaper set ups on the 750gig drive...which is only 1/3 full, and a currently empty 1tb WD black...ready for samples and such. PLUS, two new USB3 ports! So I can get USB drives for those as well. Think I'm set for now! Nice to finally have enough room for everything! Thanks for all the tips and suggestions guys! Made this much easier to deal with.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sample Libraries silverwatchdog General Discussion 0 05-17-2011 04:30 PM
Best Sample Libraries ckahle33 The Drum Room 3 01-18-2011 12:16 PM
Sample libraries myronfuller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-08-2004 05:12 PM
Sample Libraries Patriq 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-25-2003 12:48 AM
Would anyone like to trade sample libraries Or what libraries are good Still No SSL Yet Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-29-2002 09:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com