Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2015, 01:50 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 461
Default Antelope Orion

Anyone using the Orion 32 interface with PT HD?

I'm hearing mixed messages as to whether it works

thanks
__________________
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...Kinky Boots!)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2015, 05:16 PM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 386
Default Re: Antelope Orion

I use it with a RME madiface USB and it totally ROCKS, super stable, I'm on a mac
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 gb crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
PT HD 12.6.1 on Mac
PT HD 12.6.1 on Windows
Cubase 9.5
Studio One v3.5
...........
Apollo 8 and Apollo Twin MKII Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2015, 05:22 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,788
Default Re: Antelope Orion

I can second that. The studio where our friends we work in have that Orion with PT12HD and it is very stable and runs great! Antelope tech is super awesome and very clean crisp sounding interfaces. Especially the Orion
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2015, 05:33 PM
John Jeffers John Jeffers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 77
Default Re: Antelope Orion

I've been using an Orion for over two years now. There were problems with USB in the first 6 months or so as they sorted out driver issues, but it's been stable for me for a long time now.

At first, I used it with an SSL MADI card because of the USB issues. When my Mac Pro died, I had to switch back to USB because I no longer had a computer with PCIe slots. That was about a year ago, I think. Luckily, by then Antelope had stable drivers.

I'm only recently on HD (about two months now), but it behaves just as well with HD as it ever did with PT Vanilla.

My wish list for the next version:
- More flexibility in the software mixer (like RME)
- Clearer I/O routing in the control panel
- A hardware volume control
- Thunderbolt and/or USB3 support

Overall, I consider the Orion one of the best gear investments I've ever made. Highly recommended for people who need high I/O count, but don't have the deep pockets required for HDX, Apogee, Apollo, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2015, 05:46 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,446
Default Re: Antelope Orion

32 channels of I/O on USB 2? Impressive!!
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2015, 09:27 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 461
Default Re: Antelope Orion

Thanks all, all good news!
__________________
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...Kinky Boots!)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2015, 10:08 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,944
Default Re: Antelope Orion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
32 channels of I/O on USB 2? Impressive!!
I have found support and everything about the orion BS.

It has been a real struggle.

Unless you invest another $1500 for a madi it won't really do what they say.

The 32 on USB2 is a joke and false advertisement.

Total BS.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.4 Antelope Orion 32
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2015, 04:17 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,446
Default Re: Antelope Orion

the plot thickens!!
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-30-2015, 05:41 AM
Shatzer Shatzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 559
Default Re: Antelope Orion

I have no problems with mine running PT 11 HD on Win 7 using USB.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-30-2015, 10:46 AM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,944
Default Re: Antelope Orion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatzer View Post
I have no problems with mine running PT 11 HD on Win 7 using USB.
What are your PC specs?
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.4 Antelope Orion 32
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antelope Orion and Dangerous Source issues. joeboisits Pro Tools 10 3 05-26-2015 02:34 PM
Pro Tools 9 latency with Antelope Orion 32 mkosacek Pro Tools 9 3 09-05-2013 07:13 PM
Antelope ORION, BURL B2 ADC, SSL MX 4-16, Focal CMS-50, Focal CMS SUB Imagine Buy & Sell 14 05-09-2013 01:42 PM
Antelope Orion - any users? johnsimmons Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 02-24-2013 03:49 PM
11R EXP demo - Orion adamqlw Eleven Rack 17 05-13-2011 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com