Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2016, 01:19 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 655
Default 3rd party interfaces and hardware inserts latency

I'm considering replacing my HD Native, HD Omni and HD I/O with Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt or UAD Apollo 8. I frequently use parallel processing using external analogue gear. The latency of I/O inserts is perfectly compensated. Is this also going to be the case with Ensemble and Apollo or am I going to run into problems?
__________________
5dB Ride mixing and mastering
http://5dbride.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2016, 07:13 AM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs NY
Posts: 519
Default Re: 3rd party interfaces and hardware inserts latency

You will have to enter the latency values of those interfaces in the I/O menu manually, they are not automatically calculated and compensated for like with HD hardware..
It's hit or miss and one of the reasons I eventually bought HD native hardware because it never seemed to work correctly, at least for me.
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2018.4 | HD Native PCIe | HD I/O | 2 x Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Sierra 10.12.6 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v9.6 & Abbey Road Collection
Pro Tools HD2 8.1.1 | 2 x PCIe Core Card | Digi 192 | 2009 Mac Pro Eight Core 2.26ghz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2016, 10:39 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,029
Default Re: 3rd party interfaces and hardware inserts latency

It *should* work, if you input the right latencies. Which may take measuring at your particular sample rate. I've done it with non-HD gear fine. UAD Console and plugins in the console might confound things.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2016, 12:41 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 655
Default Re: 3rd party interfaces and hardware inserts latency

What are the values for Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt?
__________________
5dB Ride mixing and mastering
http://5dbride.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2016, 01:10 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 655
Default Re: 3rd party interfaces and hardware inserts latency

It seems that Aurora Thunderbolt doesn't need any adjustments in I/O Setup:
http://www.lynxstudio.com/forum/foru...are-inserts-pt

Quote:
I suspect the confusion is around ProTools systems with Avid hardware, and with third party hardware. With an Avid system (TDM, HD Native or HDX), if you connect an AD/DA to the digital I/O of a ProTools interface, the delay times from that converter will not be compensated for automatically.
Also, some third party interfaces that connect via Digilink would require manual offsets to create stream allignment (this is not the case for an Aurora/HD though).

However, with Core Audio devices like the Aurora/TB, the driver broadcasts its delay times to the DAW, and the DAW compensates accordingly. This is the standard and true for all major Native DAWs.

The behavior you see is what we would expect.

Hope this helps...
Could it be true for all major Core Audio interfaces?
__________________
5dB Ride mixing and mastering
http://5dbride.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2016, 01:52 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 655
Default Re: 3rd party interfaces and hardware inserts latency

Quote:
Originally Posted by 29CountsNY View Post
You will have to enter the latency values of those interfaces in the I/O menu manually, they are not automatically calculated and compensated for like with HD hardware..
It's hit or miss and one of the reasons I eventually bought HD native hardware because it never seemed to work correctly, at least for me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
It *should* work, if you input the right latencies. Which may take measuring at your particular sample rate. I've done it with non-HD gear fine. UAD Console and plugins in the console might confound things.
Today I tested Apollo Thunderbolt silver version with Pro Tools 12.
Hardware insert latency as well as loopback recording latency were perfectly compensated. So it seems that properly created Core Audio drivers take care of it.

No need for any latency adjustments in the I/O setup!
__________________
5dB Ride mixing and mastering
http://5dbride.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2018, 10:35 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 783
Default Re: 3rd party interfaces and hardware inserts latency

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacko View Post
I'm considering replacing my HD Native, HD Omni and HD I/O with Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt or UAD Apollo 8. I frequently use parallel processing using external analogue gear. The latency of I/O inserts is perfectly compensated. Is this also going to be the case with Ensemble and Apollo or am I going to run into problems?
I am curious about the apogee ensemble thunderbolt. About this issue.

Anyone know? Thx.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Latency Monitoring with 3rd party interfaces - details? Rich Breen Pro Tools 10 13 10-26-2011 03:19 PM
Third Party ASIO / Core Audio Interfaces and Hardware Inserts ADC ?? ajv205 Pro Tools 9 8 12-18-2010 12:13 PM
latency when using hardware inserts (oo3) earmeter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 07-14-2008 07:38 PM
[002R] Hardware Inserts Latency: how much is it? HotRats_Reloded 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-14-2006 02:03 PM
latency on hardware inserts vtone Tips & Tricks 4 10-22-2000 06:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com