Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2012, 12:08 AM
MasturB MasturB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Default Can't hear any sound?

Hi, I'm a singer and I purchased Avid Recording Studio and have an AKG Perception 220 microphone. All my wires are connected, all the lights necessary are on.

I tried to do a test recording, and I could see the wavelengths from my voice recording and the bars bouncing up and down indicating to me the mic is receiving sound.

However when I stop recording and hit play I don't hear anything. Any help with this please? I'm not using any headphones, don't have any headphones plugged into the M-Audio amp. I'm not sure if that's a problem or not. I'm looking at the audio track and I do see where my vocal wavelengths were so I'm assuming it recorded, but again I don't hear anything on my Mac speakers when I hit play.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2012, 12:14 AM
MasturB MasturB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Default Re: Can't hear any sound?

I just tried Garage Band, and I can record and hear my vocals just fine. Can't say the same for Pro Tools SE though.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2012, 11:53 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,412
Default Re: Can't hear any sound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasturB View Post
Hi, I'm a singer and I purchased Avid Recording Studio and have an AKG Perception 220 microphone. All my wires are connected, all the lights necessary are on.

I tried to do a test recording, and I could see the wavelengths from my voice recording and the bars bouncing up and down indicating to me the mic is receiving sound.

However when I stop recording and hit play I don't hear anything. Any help with this please? I'm not using any headphones, don't have any headphones plugged into the M-Audio amp. I'm not sure if that's a problem or not. I'm looking at the audio track and I do see where my vocal wavelengths were so I'm assuming it recorded, but again I don't hear anything on my Mac speakers when I hit play.

Hi,

Sounds like you haven't setup the interface fully to record and playback sound!

You make no mention as to whether you have assigned outputs on your track in the session so we can only guess where the problem lies.

I suggest viewing the SE help videos and checking everything is setup as they suggest..

This one might help... http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FbczjrB8NO8&feature=plpp


Check the other videos and see if they help you to understand how to setup PT better.

http://m.youtube.com/#/playlist?list...88C322B9&gl=GB


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't hear any sound with 11R/Pro Tools 10 weeee349 Eleven Rack 3 02-20-2015 11:17 AM
Can't Hear Sound With Digi 192, Help Please msevero Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-27-2011 03:22 PM
Should I be able to hear sound? Lyricism 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-08-2011 06:48 PM
Can't hear sound : M Audio, What is it ? Soleille 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-03-2009 06:24 AM
Can't hear sound from MBox Ray Magnetic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-20-2008 01:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com