Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2018, 07:02 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,705
Default Can't drag WAV files into Serum

I was trying to drag a WAV file into Serum to build a wavetable with Serum open on an instrument track in PT (2018.7) I tried doing it using Workspace, I dragged the file from Workspace to a track and tried to do it from the the track. I tried copy paste. I tried to drag directly from Windows browser...no go in any way.



I can do it easily with Serum hosted in Reason or Reaper, but not in Pro Tools? Is this normal? I thought workspace was meant to allow us to drag files into our VI's in PT?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.4
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2018, 07:15 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,328
Default Re: Can't drag WAV files into Serum

I've heard that dragging audio files into Pro Tools was a bug and it was fixed a while ago, that's why you can't do it with Structure free exactly as in the old tutorials. Does Serum have a browser you can use to navigate to the file?
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2018, 01:07 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,705
Default Re: Can't drag WAV files into Serum

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
I've heard that dragging audio files into Pro Tools was a bug and it was fixed a while ago, that's why you can't do it with Structure free exactly as in the old tutorials. Does Serum have a browser you can use to navigate to the file?

Not that I can see. I've looked at several video tutorials and all them do the drag and drop...but, of course, none of them are using Pro Tools to host Serum either.



You are correct that we can no longer drag and drop audio files directly into Structure...you have to do it using Structure's browser. I was hoping there's a way to do it with Serum or that I was overlooking something obvious.



Its kind of a pain to not be able to do this inside PT. Be nice if Avid could figure out a way to allow it without the problems that caused them to drop it in the first place, which were, if I recall, inherent with RTAS. Surely there's a way to do it without destablizing things. ALl the other DAWs seem to have no issues doing it. And we can drag/drop wave files from the Workspace onto an audio track, so why not into a VI or Sampler?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.4
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2018, 01:10 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,328
Default Re: Can't drag WAV files into Serum

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Its kind of a pain to not be able to do this inside PT. Be nice if Avid could figure out a way to allow it without the problems that caused them to drop it in the first place, which were, if I recall, inherent with RTAS. Surely there's a way to do it without destablizing things. ALl the other DAWs seem to have no issues doing it. And we can drag/drop wave files from the Workspace onto an audio track, so why not into a VI or Sampler?
It would make our lives easier.

About Serum, have you tried asking them directly? (Twitter is usually faster than a support ticket).
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Yesterday, 06:45 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,705
Default Re: Can't drag WAV files into Serum

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
It would make our lives easier.

About Serum, have you tried asking them directly? (Twitter is usually faster than a support ticket).

Yeah, I'm going to post an inquiry on the Xfer forum today. I asked her first hoping someone might know.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.4
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble drag&drop files - I don't get what I drag in Sir Hannes Post - Surround - Video 3 12-10-2017 07:39 AM
Serum and Serum FX on PT 12.7.1 malnushi Pro Tools 12 0 03-10-2017 09:10 AM
Can't drag audio files into PT Robert U Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 10-02-2015 10:25 AM
Drag and Drop WAV files shamrock7171 Pro Tools 10 1 09-09-2013 06:54 PM
Drag and drop wav files? RaySoul 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-27-2009 09:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com