Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2019, 09:01 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,555
Default Do not update/Catalina

I thought it might be a good idea to start a thread to post if someone's gotten any emails from developers about not updating to Catalina until further advised. I'll start it off with:
Native Instruments
fxpansion - BFD and other s/w

And maybe include things like 'not optimized' for 64 bit use due to still having bits & bobs of 32 bit code:
PT
some MOTU drivers
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2019, 09:13 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,926
Default Re: Do not update/Catalina

Goes without saying Avid is on the do not update list until they qualify Catalina likely in 2020
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2019, 09:46 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,062
Default Re: Do not update/Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
until they qualify Catalina likely in 2020
As a Moderator you should probably not spread misinformation you've conjured up.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2019, 10:12 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,926
Default Re: Do not update/Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
As a Moderator you should probably not spread misinformation you've conjured up.
Misinformation? Just an educated guess that Catalina support isn't gonna be there in 2019. If it is, I stand corrected.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2019, 11:05 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,555
Default Re: Do not update/Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
As a Moderator you should probably not spread misinformation you've conjured up.
Chill dude. He's only saying what everyone else knows without conjuring anything. You only have to look at Avid's history to know Janne is right. Or do you like looking at the world in rose colored glasses?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2019, 11:38 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,926
Default Re: Do not update/Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Here, added the link for you.

It isn't so black and white however; they added Sierra compatibility to 12.6 (released in 28-SEP-2016 or 8 days after Sierra release date) but more often than not we have been waiting for OS compatibility for several months.

Recently it took until 2019.5 to get Mojave compatibility, though that release was supposed to be out of the door as 2019.1 but it never happened. What proves my point though is Mojave was *not* supported in 2018.12 as in not supported the same year new OS was released.

Given that 64-bit only is a major change, you don't need to be a rocket scientist to determine getting support this year might prove "challenging" for Avid.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2019, 01:47 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,062
Default Re: Do not update/Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Chill dude. He's only saying what everyone else knows without conjuring anything. You only have to look at Avid's history to know Janne is right. Or do you like looking at the world in rose colored glasses?
What people "know" is nothing. Until Avid officially says anything. The DUC is the only forum I know of where the moderators are not "in-the-know" with the company. And that leads to confusion for other forum members who start to take this as "truth."

He's posted, over and over (and over and over and over...) again this same thing. It's a guess. That's all.

If you, musicman, post it, no one is going to think it is coming from Avid.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-15-2019, 01:51 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,062
Default Re: Do not update/Catalina

But to add to this thread of "do not update" with actual real knowledge: Slate has said not to upgrade.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-15-2019, 02:00 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,926
Default Re: Do not update/Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Slate has said not to upgrade.
Years ago as I remember Slate has said updates coming soon. Still waiting and not buying anything ever again.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-15-2019, 02:03 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,555
Default Re: Do not update/Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
What people "know" is nothing. Until Avid officially says anything. The DUC is the only forum I know of where the moderators are not "in-the-know" with the company. And that leads to confusion for other forum members who start to take this as "truth."

He's posted, over and over (and over and over and over...) again this same thing. It's a guess. That's all.

If you, musicman, post it, no one is going to think it is coming from Avid.
It doesn't matter who says it and most people who have been here for any length of time know the mods that post here are NOT a part of Avid. Those that are have that under their avatar/screen name. In a number of forums the mods are not part of the company but people who volunteer their time freely. But face it as it's the truth given Avid's past history. You don't have to be Miss Cleo or John Edward to figure that out.



Even if I had posted it first you would still have heartburn with it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catalina update for Pro-Tools? garnoil Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 17 10-01-2019 01:37 PM
003 Rack+, will it work with OSX 10.5 (Catalina)? sdm777@me.com 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-29-2019 04:36 PM
System 5 with OS X Catalina japple System 5 1 09-08-2019 08:13 AM
Catalina Ryan Young Pro Tools 2019 6 06-06-2019 10:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com