Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2022, 01:19 PM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 132
Default Suddenly Multiple VU Meters on a Single Track

In the past few days I'm seeing some of my tracks with multiple 6 VU meters instead of the normal stereo pair (see attached image). It happens when I use a reverb plugin from Waves, called "H-Reverb" but I can't tell if it's that particular plugin or something new in PT. I looked in the preferences > Metering, and the only thing checked to show is Compressor/Limiter. If anyone could tell me how this can be turned off, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2022-05-26 at 4.15.44 PM.jpg (10.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
2TB Internal Fusion Drive
2 4TB External Drives with Mirrored Backups
2 External Monitors: 27" & 65"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2022, 01:38 PM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,018
Default Re: Suddenly Multiple VU Meters on a Single Track

That looks like a surround track. You have probably accidentally selected the H-Reverb (Stereo/5.1) version of the plugin, which up-mixes to 5.1 and changes the track meters to reflect the new output width.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2022, 05:45 PM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 132
Default Re: Suddenly Multiple VU Meters on a Single Track

well... dang... you're exactly right... these new versions of H-Verb showed up in my plugins just recently—must be some kind of auto download thing—and I figured the latest version must be the best, so I've been loading the stereo/5.1 H-Verb into my tracks for the past few days.

Just learned something new, how 'bout it. If this keeps up, I might be smart some day.

Thanks ever so much, Scott!
__________________
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
2TB Internal Fusion Drive
2 4TB External Drives with Mirrored Backups
2 External Monitors: 27" & 65"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2022, 07:02 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,018
Default Re: Suddenly Multiple VU Meters on a Single Track

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayce View Post
well... dang... you're exactly right... these new versions of H-Verb showed up in my plugins just recently—must be some kind of auto download thing—and I figured the latest version must be the best, so I've been loading the stereo/5.1 H-Verb into my tracks for the past few days.

Just learned something new, how 'bout it. If this keeps up, I might be smart some day.

Thanks ever so much, Scott!
It's because Pro Tools Studio now supports surround. In previous versions, it was only mono or stereo. Glad I could help!
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fade OUT to multiple clips one single track? mgmartino Pro Tools 12 8 09-29-2017 08:22 AM
Single track to multiple tracks or aux realizment Pro Tools 10 2 11-16-2012 11:28 PM
Drag multiple files on a single track??? sand Tips & Tricks 4 08-20-2002 11:11 PM
multiple destinations to a single MIDI track Fave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-09-2002 08:25 AM
Bringing multiple files to a single track sburgess Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 11-28-2000 09:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com