Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2006, 05:31 PM
rotidexm rotidexm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default Disk Drive read problem

I have a Glyph FireWire 400 drive, 120 GB, that has been a happy camper for over 18 months. Today, i turn it on, it shows up on the desktop, I can read (non-ProTools) files from the drive and write (non-ProTools) files to the drive, but when using it with ProTools, (Vers 6.9.1, Mac OS 10.3.8 on a mirrored door G4) ProTools says "this is not a qualified volume" (or something like that) - basically, suddenly ProTools won't use this drive to read or write audio. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2006, 06:27 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Disk Drive read problem

From the Answerbase

"This can happen for different reasons.
1) Check hard drives in the workspace (in Pro Tools, go to the Windows menu and choose 'Show Workspace') and make sure the ( A ) column to the right of the drive is set to ( R ) and not ( T ) or ( P ).
2) Trash the Digidesign Databases folder on all hard drives.
3) Trash Pro Tools preferences files. USERS/username/library/preferences/Pro Tools preferences
4) If you have run the "restore" or "reinstall" of OSX and choose the save applications and files option, Pro Tools will not function correctly upon being restored, one symptom would be the error as noted in the subject "The drive cannot be designated as an Audio playback/recording volume because this is not a valid audio volume" Solution is to run the uninstaller from the Pro Tools 6x CD, repair disk permissions on the drive (use the Apple Disk Utility located in MacHD>Applications>Utilities) and reinstall. Pro Tools at that point reacquires the drives as record volumes."
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:19 AM
rotidexm rotidexm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: Disk Drive read problem

Thanks so much for taking the time to make this post. Yes, somehow the drive was set to "T" in the workspace instead of "R". I have NO clue how this could have happened, but ..... oh well.

I greatly appreciate your time and assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:33 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Disk Drive read problem

sometimes it just happens
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Read/Write Disk snipertango Pro Tools 10 3 09-04-2012 07:28 PM
Pro Tools SE disk doesn't read allusitivity Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 01-12-2011 04:48 AM
Do some CD-R drives not read a certain type of disk? Calvin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-02-2003 05:40 AM
Hard Disk Read Ahead for 001 T-Man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-01-2003 01:51 AM
THIS DISK CAN NOT be read by this computer... HELP!! Alécio Costa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-15-2002 06:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com