Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2019, 03:59 PM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 626
Default Importing Session Data - Beginner's Question

Hello All,
So let's say I have a session, and I want to open a new session and import session data to the new one. I only want to import certain strips to the new session so I highlight those and hit the import..
I'm trying to think of the best way to backup my sessions. I've been pretty lax for quite awhile about cleaning up playlists and incomplete guitar tracts etc. , so I was thinking that if I just select what I want to import into a new session, I can then delete the original session, and probably end up with a third of the session data I started out with.. I guess my worry is that since I've imported certain data there's still a connection between the original and the new session, and when I delete the original, I'll end up deleting the strip from both the new and original sessions.. I'm wrong worrying about this, right?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2019, 04:26 PM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,006
Default Re: Importing Session Data - Beginner's Question

Personally I'd just clean the session edit and not bother exporting. Hard drives are cheap.

But if you really want to: do a Save As, then clean up the session and remove unused audio from the clips list (this gives you a way to back track if you make an error), then do Save Copy In... and tick the audio files option so it re-creates all the audio.
Trash the original but don't empty trash until you check your Save Copy to see that it is totally self contained and has what you need.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 2018.4, Sierra, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2019, 05:49 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,836
Default Re: Importing Session Data - Beginner's Question

Yea, as said if I wanted to clean up a session and start a new one based on it I'd do a Save Copy In to create a fresh session to mess up with.

On the other hand if I am building a new session from ground up and I know I have great preset tracks on some sessions, then I would just use Import Session (possibly multiple times on multiple sessions) just to build on what I have on my originally empty session.

Two different workflows.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2019, 05:51 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,836
Default Re: Importing Session Data - Beginner's Question

Oh, and just a reminder. Not all features of Import Session are available in standard software. In case you see a fancy youtube vid and wonder why you don't find it on your system... that's why.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2019, 03:07 PM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 626
Default Re: Importing Session Data - Beginner's Question

Thanks for the insights... I'm going to get and do some work now..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-28-2019, 09:54 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,670
Default Re: Importing Session Data - Beginner's Question

If you "link" instead of copying the original audio then you risk deleting audio that you need. A visit to the session browser (option-'o') will show you all the audio files used in the session, and sorting on "Path" will make clear any file that's NOT in the session folder. You can also see the same thing in the clip bin if you show full path, though it's much easier and clearer from the session browser. From the session browser you can then choose to "copy and relink" or "move and relink" any audio outside of your current working session folder.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recover corrupt session (session backups or importing session data not working) ejsalling Pro Tools 2018 4 01-28-2019 05:03 AM
Importing session data Rune Thuelund Post - Surround - Video 4 02-15-2012 12:57 PM
Importing session data in PT 8.1 Yanne Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-22-2010 06:26 AM
Importing Session Data Question... kravinski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-28-2008 05:45 PM
importing session data question/problem TheLEM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-16-2007 09:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com