Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2016, 10:12 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 186
Default Commit clip is too hot!! Help!

I want to commit a clip to a new track as it's original volume and now it turns out like a hot, compressed waveform!

I've tried just about everything I could think of:
- Made sure volume levels were all '0'
- Checked and unchecked all the automated reneder choices in the boxes in the 'Commit Track' box
- Made sure there were no effects on any insert boxes to get applied to the committed track
- Help!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2016, 08:02 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 186
Default Re: Commit clip is too hot!! Help!

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2016, 09:05 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,293
Default Re: Commit clip is too hot!! Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by firmflange View Post
- Made sure volume levels were all '0'
Check the output volume of the VI, if 0 is too hot try -6 or -12 or -whateverworks
Good luck
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2016, 09:47 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 186
Default Re: Commit clip is too hot!! Help!

I was PM'ing amagras and mentioned that how I make a finished track is that I make a mixdown, then trip that waveform, then commit it to it's finished track.

It's like it's being compressed and I still can't figure it out how to get it to commit and look like the original waveform.

To my knowledge I'm not using and VI's.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2016, 01:06 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Commit clip is too hot!! Help!

What happens if you set the auto mode to read instead of off on the track PRINT?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2016, 03:04 AM
DarkandKurious DarkandKurious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 70
Default Re: Commit clip is too hot!! Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by firmflange View Post
I was PM'ing amagras and mentioned that how I make a finished track is that I make a mixdown, then trip that waveform, then commit it to it's finished track.

It's like it's being compressed and I still can't figure it out how to get it to commit and look like the original waveform.

To my knowledge I'm not using and VI's.
Have you turned up the clip gain on the original audio? I can see the clip gain for the committed track, but what is the clip gain on the original? From memory, the audio on a track can be above 0dBFS, but doesn't clip because the mixer is running as 32bit floating point, and the volume of the fader can drop the volume to acceptable levels. The waveform won't necessarily look clipped because clip gain seems to just act like a zoom and ignores the output volume. But if you commit and uncheck the volume setting, it will render the audio relative to 0dBFS, anything over will be clipped.

Try freezing the original track and see if that then looks clipped also.

Hopefully I've explained this clearly enough, sorry if I haven't.

Does it sound like a clipped version of the original?
__________________
MacBookPro15,3 i9 32GB Vega 20
macOS 10.14.5
Pro Tools 2019.5 Vanilla
Antelope Audio Zen Tour

Last edited by DarkandKurious; 11-30-2016 at 03:07 AM. Reason: more thoughts
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2016, 04:39 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 186
Default Re: Commit clip is too hot!! Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stig Eliassen View Post
What happens if you set the auto mode to read instead of off on the track PRINT?
This is really strange. I Commit the track in READ mode, and it worked, then I try it one more time without changing ANYTHING... and it went compressed again!
Dark - that is very interesting. I don't know much about the terminology of "32bit floating point".

Last edited by firmflange; 11-30-2016 at 05:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2016, 05:47 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 186
Default Re: Commit clip is too hot!! Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkandKurious View Post
Have you turned up the clip gain on the original audio? I can see the clip gain for the committed track, but what is the clip gain on the original? From memory, the audio on a track can be above 0dBFS, but doesn't clip because the mixer is running as 32bit floating point, and the volume of the fader can drop the volume to acceptable levels. The waveform won't necessarily look clipped because clip gain seems to just act like a zoom and ignores the output volume. But if you commit and uncheck the volume setting, it will render the audio relative to 0dBFS, anything over will be clipped.

Try freezing the original track and see if that then looks clipped also.

Hopefully I've explained this clearly enough, sorry if I haven't.

Does it sound like a clipped version of the original?
Hi Dark, the clip remains unchanged whether I raise or lower volume on the source track.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2016, 06:07 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 186
Default Re: Commit clip is too hot!! Help!

My mistake, the volume and mute options helped.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2016, 09:54 PM
DarkandKurious DarkandKurious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 70
Default Re: Commit clip is too hot!! Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by firmflange View Post
My mistake, the volume and mute options helped.
So when you committed with the volume automation in read, and had the volume ticked as a commit option, the track committed okay?

On the original bounce, if you set the metering to pre-fader, do you see yellow clip lights on the track? If the metering is set post-fader, do you see clip lights on the track?
__________________
MacBookPro15,3 i9 32GB Vega 20
macOS 10.14.5
Pro Tools 2019.5 Vanilla
Antelope Audio Zen Tour
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x form rendering blank files when choosing clip by clip audiosuite dj_grimmace AAX Plug-ins 2 06-21-2017 12:29 PM
x form rendering blank files when choosing clip by clip audiosuite dj_grimmace Pro Tools 11 1 03-04-2017 01:35 PM
Issue dropping more than one clip into the Edit Window with Clip Transparency ON arb232 Pro Tools 12 0 02-10-2016 07:01 PM
Strange Clip LED Behavior. No Clip LEDs on PlugIns anymore ? innenhofstudios macOS 14 08-19-2013 11:29 AM
To Commit or not to Commit, that is the question. georgejw22 Pro Tools 10 10 12-20-2011 06:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com