Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2016, 04:11 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default My computer says 12.5.2 may harm computer

So I download 12.5.2 for Mac and after finishing the download, a yellow warning box opens up and says............" This file may harm your computer" what in hell is going on ?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ????????
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2016, 04:59 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,042
Default Re: My computer says 12.5.2 may harm computer

There's no way for anyone to know why your computer system is doing what it does. If you downloaded 12.5.2 from your Avid account, then what is there to worry about?
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2019.10, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2016, 06:20 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,301
Default Re: My computer says 12.5.2 may harm computer

Is the alert coming from your computer or from your Internet browser? Internet browsers sometimes do this with files downloaded from Internet to alert users about the risk of downloading files from Internet.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2016, 07:31 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,662
Default Re: My computer says 12.5.2 may harm computer

It's not a big deal as long as you downloaded from the Avid source. Same thing happens on the Windows side with SmartScreen.

For files that are not popular or nothing is known about them to the filter or they are not digitally signed will pop-up that dialog.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2016, 08:51 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default Re: My computer says 12.5.2 may harm computer

Thanks for the replies .....Yes it was downloaded from my Avid account, and yes I am aware of the normal security waring that the "file was downloaded from the internet do you want to open" that usually pops up when you first click on the file to open it.
This was not that, it is something completely new, it popped up as soon as the file stopped downloading, before I even clicked on the dmag. Guess I have to ask Apple. Thanks again.
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-2016, 09:04 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,442
Default Re: My computer says 12.5.2 may harm computer

What web browser were you using and a screenshot or the actual warning would have helped.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-11-2016, 07:16 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default Re: My computer says 12.5.2 may harm computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
What web browser were you using and a screenshot or the actual warning would have helped.
Google Chrome and yes I should have thought about at the time. Since the only way to duplicated it would be to download 12.5.2 again, but unfortunately right now I am out of state and will not be back home to the studio until August.
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-11-2016, 07:44 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: My computer says 12.5.2 may harm computer

Windows SmartScreen puts up that error. Right click on the download, then Properties, then check Unblock.
You can turn SmartScreen on/off in the Privacy -> General settings.
__________________
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-11-2016, 09:42 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,442
Default Re: My computer says 12.5.2 may harm computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
Google Chrome and yes I should have thought about at the time. Since the only way to duplicated it would be to download 12.5.2 again, but unfortunately right now I am out of state and will not be back home to the studio until August.
It might have just been Your Chrome browser, over-eager warnings like that from Chrome have caused lots of folks concern in the past.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-11-2016, 09:43 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,442
Default Re: My computer says 12.5.2 may harm computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
Windows SmartScreen puts up that error. Right click on the download, then Properties, then check Unblock.
You can turn SmartScreen on/off in the Privacy -> General settings.
Not on a Mac it won't.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer experts have you heard of this computer maker? garnoil General Discussion 3 07-07-2013 07:05 PM
Migrating to new computer and want to transfer my presets to new computer???? MASTERLINKSTUDIOS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-23-2008 11:52 AM
Digi 001 computer out to computer Cable Question dbguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-28-2004 04:29 PM
upgrading my computer,how about this Nitro computer?? Felimaq 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-08-2003 03:45 AM
question : can i copy/paste all my computer hard/soft to other computer . for a gig. sandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-10-2001 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com