Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-14-2016, 06:42 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: Stop Pro Tools Installing Plugins on Launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
I remember reading that you can use Show Package Contents and remove unwanted plug-ins from the Pro Tools app itself, and that this would stop it from reinstalling them at launch. Do at your own risk, of course - back it up first.
Is this a Pro Tools HD thing or something? I've never had Pro Tools reinstall a plugin that I removed from the plugins folder (on Native) even going all the way back to 7.4.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-14-2016, 02:37 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,670
Default Re: Stop Pro Tools Installing Plugins on Launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Is this a Pro Tools HD thing or something? I've never had Pro Tools reinstall a plugin that I removed from the plugins folder (on Native) even going all the way back to 7.4.
Happens whether you have HD or not.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-15-2016, 08:27 AM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 490
Default Re: Stop Pro Tools Installing Plugins on Launch

This changed when the installer became a drag-and-drop package, whenever that was. 10, maybe?

All the core plugins, I/O setting etc are in the app package and will re-install on startup scan if not found.

Only way to stop this is to move the unwanted plugins from the correct folder in the package. I just move them into an adjacent folder in case I need them back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Is this a Pro Tools HD thing or something? I've never had Pro Tools reinstall a plugin that I removed from the plugins folder (on Native) even going all the way back to 7.4.
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com
twitter // instagram // facebook // imdb
------------
PT Ultimate 2018.7, Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.46, 24Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.12.6fd, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Reboots PC every time during launch/loading of plugins bunderson Windows 5 03-25-2012 01:24 PM
Pro Tools trying to load uninstalled plugins... how do I get it to stop searching? awritersparadise 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-07-2009 01:33 AM
How to Launch Pro Tools 7 without Plugins superkev07 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 10-30-2007 09:01 AM
installing plugins to pro tools le FinnJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-30-2003 06:28 PM
installing plugins for pro tools 6 in OSX the riff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-30-2003 04:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com