Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Old 05-09-2002, 09:09 PM

Default How do you fit the grid to your loop???

I was a student in the Recording Connection program, and I was doing a song on ProTools...
This was a Hip Hop song-I had a basic sampled loop of music from a previous song... The loop was basically pasted across the song by using "repeat" Ok, then....

Another student showed me how to set up the session in this way...the LINES of the grid on the front and back of each region were then lined up to match that loop. I know that "Identify Beat" was part of it, but I don't remember exactly the steps to re-set that mode. I remember typing in the beginning and end of each time the region was there and ProTools reset the grid lines to match the loop. THat helped to line up all the rest of the samples on the song to the main loop.....How do you do this?
Old 05-10-2002, 07:37 AM

Default Re: How do you fit the grid to your loop???

Try going throught the Identify Beat section of the PT Reference Guide - for 5.1, it's at p264.
This should sort you out.
Old 05-10-2002, 10:36 PM

Hi, thanks for the recommendation...

Believe it or not, I did go through an older ProTools manual I got from Foothill College from a while before I actually got the program
(since, yes, ProTools LE and the Digi 001 does NOT come with a full user's manual, just a "quick start guide"-strange but true)

I'll go through that manual again, but I will mention that my last search didnt turn up the exact answer to this particular function..

..In other words, I'm trying to do this-