Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2002, 02:17 PM
dancheung dancheung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles CA,USA
Posts: 87
Default Re: Pro ToolsTDM version of Cubase RecycleREX files?

Have you experimented w/ beat detective?
__________________
Dan Cheung
2.5 Ghz Quad G5 Power PC
4 gigs of RAM
OS 10.5.x Leopard
Protools LE 7.4
Mbox II
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2002, 01:31 AM
blahblah95 blahblah95 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1
Default Pro ToolsTDM version of Cubase RecycleREX files?

When I used to use Cubase for recording, I loved the ease and quickness of throwing a REX file into the session for quick inspiration when writing a song. I have yet to find the equivalent in Pro Tools. At this point I have to find a sound file I like, and use the TCE function. The problem is that it just doesn't have precision of Recycle.
I'm sure there's something out there. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2002, 05:23 PM
One Track Music One Track Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 387
Default Re: Pro ToolsTDM version of Cubase RecycleREX files?

Bit of a workaround next to your cubase experience, but recycle works a treat with Soft Sample Cell - whose output goes into protools thru Direct Connect. I use it every day.
__________________
www.joeldouek.com
"Show me your Pasodoble!"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2002, 07:04 PM
Enrico Donner Enrico Donner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 201
Default Re: Pro ToolsTDM version of Cubase RecycleREX files?

What do you mean?

Are you simply loading a REX file in SoftSC or you are just joking?
[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
http://www.enricodonner.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2002, 07:50 PM
One Track Music One Track Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 387
Default Re: Pro ToolsTDM version of Cubase RecycleREX files?

Load the Rex file into Recycle, then export to SSC, including an "instrument" file and a midi file.
Quit Recycle, Launch SSC & PT. Load the new Instrument file into SSC and import it's corresponding Midi file into a PT track.... and you're off... (at least once you've created your aux track with the SSC direct connect plug in instantiated.

Sounds long-winded but it's actually fast enough to be fine and functional. Same deal if while still in recycle you want to slice up you Rex files further. The fact that Recycle, beyond it's slicing abilities, can so easily export to SSC, correctly formatting the instrument is IMHO what makes it so wonderful. SSC is not the most popular format to convert to and from, so it's a life saver. [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]
__________________
www.joeldouek.com
"Show me your Pasodoble!"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-13-2002, 10:14 AM
Enrico Donner Enrico Donner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 201
Default Re: Pro ToolsTDM version of Cubase RecycleREX files?

Cool!
I'll give it a try.
Thks
__________________
http://www.enricodonner.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Cubase files to Pro Tools files... salty_dawg3 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 12-07-2006 02:58 PM
Importing Cubase SX files into Pro ToolsTDM?? floridajohn Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 07-29-2005 11:23 PM
Cubase 32 bit files into PT ? JTRAX Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-01-2002 03:33 PM
PT .wav -Files and Cubase KaiXXX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-07-2001 02:04 AM
Will files on CD-R version 4.3.1 work w/version 5.0 LE or TDM? coaster General Discussion 2 04-05-2000 01:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com