Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2012, 11:19 AM
JC925602 JC925602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 769
Default mBox pro or ProFire 26/26

I bought an mBox Pro and it was defective (noise at -65 on every output).

I returned it and the second unit had the same problem. Now they offer me a ProFire 26/26. Should I take it or get a refund and wait to find a mBoxPro that is OK?

It's for my home system; I do post work for TV and I choose the mBoxPro so I can install a surround system to be able to work at home from time to time.

Jean-Charles
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2012, 11:27 AM
weezul weezul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 369
Default Re: mBox pro or ProFire 26/26

If the firewire connection is being stable, I would take it. But only if you're going to use all the extra I/o. You will lose Low Latency Monitoring in Pro Tools if you take this option, but working on post that is probably not a major concern.
__________________
http://www.liamgaughan.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:28 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: mBox pro or ProFire 26/26

The 2626 is a much older unit, and there's no telling whether it will be supported for very much longer, especially past PT10. Whereas the new Mbox Pro is a newer product that should be supported for at least several years to come. Also, I don't know if the 2626 has monitor control for surround, whereas the Mbox Pro does. And the Mbox Pro sounds very good, if you get a properly working version.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the Profire 2626 more stable than Profire Lightbridge? (PT8 or snow leopard?) tomv-k Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 03-09-2012 02:45 PM
should I Change my Mbox 2 pro for Profire 610??? matias4000 Pro Tools 9 5 02-09-2012 09:01 PM
The New Mbox 3 or M Audio ProFire 2626 envO General Discussion 1 01-02-2011 08:34 PM
MBox 3 Pro, 003, or Profire 2626 Jwald 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 10-28-2010 01:59 AM
Profire 2626 & Mbox 2 run together? rockya1999 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 11-22-2009 01:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com